To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

Worthington Scholarship Foundation announces financial expansion

Nov 29, 2019

David Worthington, founder and board chairman of the Worthington Scholarship Foundation, has announced an expansion of the non-profit’s college scholarships. The foundation plans to add an additional 17 high schools to the existing six in Knox, Waldo and Lincoln counties.

Since 2016, almost 2.5 million dollars has been awarded to Midcoast students. The new high schools are located in Lincoln, Hancock and Washington counties and will double the number of annual awards distributed from approximately 110 to about 220.

Award amounts typically total $16,000 for a student attending a four-year college, distributed at $2,000 per semester. Community college students receive $2,000 per semester for the length of their program. Upon receiving an associate degree, a Worthington scholar can elect to continue to obtain a bachelor degree. A mentoring component is also provided to each scholar to ensure their success.

Students receiving the scholarship must meet criteria based on academic merit and financial need. Students must attend one of the Maine colleges that have agreements with the foundation. Colleges are: Bates, Bowdoin, Colby, Husson, Maine Maritime, Thomas, any Maine community college and any college of the University of Maine system.

Expansion into Waldo County in 2019 led to a partnership with The University of Maine Hutchinson Center, who provided meeting and event space and support for staff to meet with area students and parents.

For more information, visit, one of the partner organizations’ branches or call 596-5800. Seniors graduating from a partner high school should visit their high school guidance office for application materials and deadlines.

A complete list of the high schools whose students are eligible to receive the scholarships follows:

Hancock County


Deer Isle – Stonington


George Stevens Academy


Sumner Memorial

Knox County

Camden Hills Regional


Lincoln County

Boothbay Region

Lincoln Academy

Medomak Valley


Waldo County

Belfast Area

Mount View

Searsport District

Washington County


East Grand


Machias Memorial



Washington Academy


If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.