Worthington Foundation names executive director, new staff

Sep 13, 2017
Worthington Scholarship Foundation staff, from left, Troy Curtis, Caitlin Clark and Anna Young

Rockland — The Worthington Scholarship Foundation, whose mission is to support post-secondary education in Knox County, has named Troy Curtis as its first executive director. Curtis has more than 20 years of experience in the community nonprofit field, most recently as CEO of Penobscot Bay YMCA since 2005, and has a strong history of developing partnerships with schools, municipalities and nonprofit organizations. He holds a bachelor's degree from UMaine Presque Isle and a master's from the Executive Master's Program at Springfield College.

In addition to new leadership, WSF has also hired two full-time program staff to forward the foundation’s mission. WSF Program Director Caitlin Clark will lead the program’s mentoring support. Clark, a Rockland District High School graduate, holds a bachelor's degree from Wesleyan University and a master's of higher education from Harvard University. Under her leadership, the mentoring activities have resulted in improved retention for Worthington Scholars, and she has greatly expanded the services the foundation provides to the students. Clark will also oversee WSF’s new assistant program director, Anna Young. Young is a 2015 graduate of St. Lawrence University with a bachelor's degree in biology. Most recently, Young served as an AmeriCorps VISTA at Trekkers, a youth mentoring nonprofit in Thomaston.

Worthington Scholarships were first awarded in 2010 to graduates of Oceanside East High School, and now the scholarships are also awarded at Camden Hills Regional High School and Medomak Valley High School. There are currently 122 Worthington Scholars attending colleges in Maine, and the goal of the foundation is to increase the number of recipients each year. Worthington Scholarship recipients may attend: any campus of the University of Maine system or Maine community college system, Maine Maritime Academy, Husson University, or Thomas College. The current award amount is $4,000 per year for each student.

Comments (1)
Posted by: CATHY LAWRENCE | Sep 14, 2017 12:10

Congratulations on the new staff.  As a mother of two in college, both Worthington scholars, I am very impressed with the foundation and the wonderful opportunities to provides for Knox County students.  A heartfelt thank you to the Worthington's for their generous support. You're changing the lives of so many for the better.  God Bless.

If you wish to comment, please login.