To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

Updated: Two Hope select board members have resigned

By Daniel Dunkle | Mar 02, 2021
Amy Gertner

Hope — Amy Gertner and Thomas Ingraham have resigned from the Board of Selectmen.

Gertner's resignation was accepted in an emergency board meeting Feb. 26.

"On Friday morning, Amy Gertner resigned effective March 12," Board Chair Sarah Ann Smith said in an email. "At the Special SB meeting Friday afternoon, attended by Thom Ingraham, Amy and me, we accepted her resignation."

Her resignation letter was included in the record:

"It is with sincere regret that I am writing to inform you of my decision to resign from my position as a member of the Hope Selectboard, effective March 12, 2021.

"My other commitments have become too great for me to be able to fulfill the requirements of my position on the Board. I feel it is best for me to make room for someone else with the time and energy to devote to this board.

"I have learned many things during my introduction to town politics and respect the hard work of the board. I will continue to care deeply about the community of Hope, and if I can be of any assistance to the board or the town, please do not hesitate to ask."

Nomination papers are now available for town seats including her Select Board seat with a 2-year term and the one held by Vice Chair Brian Powers with a three-year term.

Residents can also take out nomination papers to run for school committee and budget committee seats. The deadline for returning nomination papers is Friday, April 9.




If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.
Note: If you signed up using our new subscriber portal, your username is the email address you registered with and your password is in all caps