Town report dedicated to redevelopment group

By Stephanie Grinnell | Jun 04, 2014
Photo by: Stephanie Grinnell Some members of the Ragged Mountain Redevelopment Committee pose with town officials following the dedication of the Annual Report June 3. From left are Landon Fake, George Mueller, Peter Gross, Leonard Lookner, Don White, Martin Cates, Rick Knowlton, Jim Heard, William Fitzcharles, Brian Robinson, Ray Andresen, John French, Maureen Gordon and Dave Ridley.

Camden — Selectmen on June 3 announced the Annual Report for 2014 has been dedicated to Ragged Mountain Redevelopment Committee.

Select Board Chairman Martin Cates said it is always a tough decision to choose a Person of the Year featured in the Annual Report and extolled the community's spirit of volunteerism and dedication before announcing the dedication.

"It is time to celebrate this extraordinary group of people whose vision, energy, determination, and love of Camden took the idea of redeveloping Ragged Mountain and turned it into a reality," he said.

Cates noted the original members of the Redevelopment Committee were Rick Knowlton and Bob Gordon as the Co-Chairmen, Don Gross, Frank Morong, Molly Mulhern, John Scholz, Mort Strom, and non-voting members Jeff Kuller, Beth Ward, and William "Fitzy" Fitzcharles.

The committee and its work groups spanned 7 years and raised more than $4.5 million toward redevelopment of the town-owned Snow Bowl. Voters in September approved an additional $2 million bond.

"Without a moment to spare, site work for the redevelopment project began March 17 – the day after the Snow Bowl closed for the season. Next winter, skiing at the Snow Bowl will be a totally new experience thanks to your efforts," Cates said.

In the midst of fundraising and planning the redevelopment, two leading forces were lost, Cates said, in Parks and Recreation Director Jeff Kuller and Building Committee Chairman Don Gross.

"This was a deep loss to our community," Cates said. "But, you took a landslide of obstacles and turned them into a mountain of possibilities. The campaign stretched on longer than planned, but you persevered – and you made it fun for the whole community along the way. ... We dedicate this annual report to the Ragged Mountain Redevelopment Committee with profound thanks. We recognize your many years of community service and we are proud of your incredible achievement."

As listed in the Annual Report, members of the committee include Co-Chairmen Rick Knowlton and Bob Gordon, Tom Albertson, John Anders, Sam Appleton, Scott Dickerson, Landon Fake, Bill Fitzcharles, Don Gross, Peter Gross, Donna Janville, Jeff Kuller, Bob Levine, FRan Moore, Frank Morong, Molly Mulhern, Brian Robinson, Joe Ryan, John Scholz, Doug Sensenig, Mort Strom, Ian Stewart and Beth Ward.

Members behind the capital campaign include Co-Chairmen Erin Flanagan and Mort Strom, Honorary Chairman Ann Montgomery, Tom Amory, Sam Appleton, John Christie, Cate Cronin, Bob Gordon, Maureen Gordon, Peter Gross, Patrick Jones, Jeff Kuller, Jill Laing, Caroline Morong, Dave Ridely, Wendy Weiler, Oliver Weiler and George Mueller.

Parks and Recreation Committee members include Chairman Ray Andresen, Pete Brown, David Olivas, Brian Robinson, Ed Libby, Casey Heard, Emily McDevitt, Molly Mulhern, Ann Bex, Jack Williams, Mark Haskell, David Conover, Sharon Gilbert and Barbara Goos.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.