Second South Thomaston selectman to step down

By George Chappell | Jan 24, 2013
Photo by: George Chappell South Thomaston selectmen, from left, Patrick "Mike" Florance, Robert Branco and Chairman Jeffrey Northgraves. Florance and Northgraves have announced they are giving up their seats on the board.

South Thomaston — The three-member board of selectmen will dwindle to one individual following the second announcement of a board member's departure.

Selectman Patrick "Mike" Florance said at the Jan. 9 board meeting that he will resign before his term is up owing to health reasons.

The other board members accepted his resignation with regret.

Nomination papers are available for the two-year term for selectman, assessor and overseer of the poor, to fill the vacancy for the remainder of Florance's term, due to expire March 2015.

Former Fire Chief Wayne Brown has returned papers to the town office for Florance's seat. Two other names pending are Sonja Sleeper and David Eaton, who have taken out papers but not returned them as of Jan. 29.

Last month, Selectman and Board Chairman Jeffrey Northgraves announced that he would retire after 10 years on the job. As a result, nomination papers are available for one selectmen, assessor and overseer of the poor for a term of three years to fill his seat. So far, budget committee member Dorothy Meriwether has returned completed papers for the post.

The papers are available at the town office. The filing deadline is at the close of business Thursday, Feb. 7. Town meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, March 26.

Courier Publications reporter George Chappell can be reached at 207-594-4401, ext. 117, or at

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.