Men's basketball

Scrubs, Warriors, Insanity clinch WFBC hoop titles

By Staff | Mar 25, 2014
Photo by: Mark Haskell Warrior Shea Davenport, left, puts up a shot over the outstretched hand of Kay Construction's Matt Kay March 24 during the Waldoboro First Baptist Church Men's Basketball League championships. The Warriors, along with Scrubs and Insanity, clinched their respective division championships.

Waldoboro — A group of Scrubs, hardy Warriors and a squad made up of players who claim Insanity captured championships Monday night, March 24 as the Waldoboro First Baptist Church Men's Basketball League wrapped up when three teams across three divisions claimed their respective championships.

The league also crowned its first back-to-back champions in Division I as the Scrubs, the division's top-ranked team, bested No. 2 Wiscasset 62-59 in the night's late game.

The Scrubs defeated No. 5 Leighton to advance to the league finals, while Wiscasset defeated No. 7 Boothbay YMCA and No. 3 Ship City. The Scrubs earned a first-round bye in the quarterfinals.

In Division II, the No. 2 Warriors claimed the league title with a 57-46 win over top-seeded Kay Construction. The Warriors defeated No. 7 Free Press and No. 3 Laurel Wood Floors to advance, while Kay Construction bested No. 5 Midcoast Masonry. Kay Construction earned a first-round bye in the quarterfinals.

In Division III, No. 2 Insanity claimed the league crown with a 60-50 win over No. 4 Tenacious D. Insanity defeated No. 7 Cornerstone and No. 6 Lanphere to advance, while Tenacious D beat No. 5 Friendship and No. 1 Lincoln County News to advance.

Games featured 20-minute halves running time, with stopped time for the final two minutes of each half.

Stephen Benner of the Warriors won the 3-point shootout prior to the championship games.

Click for photos from the three championship games.

The following is a breakdown of each title game, with rosters for participating squads:

Division I

Scrubs 62, Wiscasset 59

The Scrubs pulled ahead in the second half and held off Wiscasset to claim the league crown. Wiscasset held a 27-22 lead at halftime.

Team members for Scrubs include Josh Berard, Isaiah Brathwaite, Justin Poland, Josh Acedo, Ronald Spencer, Ryan Conrad and Deon Cheers.

Team members for Wiscasset include Chris Hersom, Matt Hinckley, Jason Dighton, Jamie Jones, Nick Hinckley, Eric Matell, Matt Brewer and Alonzo James.

The Scrubs were led by Berard with a 19-point effort, while Cheers added 13; Poland, 12; Acedo, eight; Brathwaite, seven; and Conrad, three. The team was 15-of-23 (65 percent) from the foul line.

James netted 16 points to lead Wiscasset, while Hersom added 16; Nick Hinckley, 11; Brewer, eight; and Jones and Matt Hinckley, four. The team was 8-of-14 (57 percent) from the foul line.

Trailing 56-48 with time winding down, Hersom netted a pair of free throws to put Wiscasset down by six points. However, Scrubs' lead dwindled further after James hit the front end of a 1-and-1 and missed the second, but Wiscasset came down with the offensive rebound and found James again for an open trey, which cut the Scrubs' cushion to 56-54 with 1:17 left.

Cheers got an offensive putback off a missed free throw on the other end to put the Scrubs back up by four points, but James netted another trey to trim the top seed's lead to 58-57.

Cheers hit 1-of-2 at the line with 3.1 seconds left to put Scrubs up 62-59 and gave Wiscasset a chance to tie the game, but the team could not get the shot off in time.

Division II

Warriors 57, Kay Construction 46

The Warriors overcame a four-point deficit in the first half and rallied to claim the league crown. Kay Construction led 25-21 at halftime.

Team members for Kay Construction include Matt Kay, Kevin Reed, A.J. Staples, Casey Kenniston, Anthony Lufkin, Tyler Lupien, Chris Seavey and Jim Wirkala.

Team members for Warriors include Brian Walton, Stephen Benner, Aaron Cunningham, Mike Vilchinsky, Sean Tartt, Shea Davenport, Keith Patterson and Josh Brown.

Walton and Davenport each netted 20 points to lead the Warriors, while Benner added six; Tartt, five; Brown, four; and Cunningham, two. The Warriors were 16-of-21 (76 percent) from the foul line.

Kay scored 13 points to lead Kay Construction, while Wirkala added nine; Kenniston, seven; Lufkin and Reed, six; Seavey, three; and Lupien, two. Kay Construction sank 12-of-16 (75 percent) from the foul line.

The teams traded free throws over the game's waning minutes, but it was Davenport, who won the league's free-throw shooting title, that netted six straight from the charity stripe with less than two minutes to play to give the Warriors their largest lead at 51-41.

Division III

Insanity 60, Tenacious D 50

Insanity pulled away from Tencaious D late in a back-and-forth affair to win the Division III crown. The squads were knotted 29-29 at halftime.

Team members for Insanity include Eric Carlsen, Jeff Woodman, David McClellan, Brad Gallery, Andrew Bonnarigo, Mike Catalano and Matt Prinville.

Team members for Tenacious D include Dustin Labrie, Doug Frost, Sam Warner, Daniel Winchenbach, Tim Neptune, Cody Neptune and Mike Irons.

Woodman scored 19 points to lead Insanity, while McClellan added 17; Gallery, eight; Carlson, six; Catalano and Prinville, four; and Bonnarigo, two. Insanity netted 5-of-13 (38 percent) free-throw attempts.

Frost scored 19 points to lead Tenacious D, while Irons added nine; Labrie, seven; Cody Neptune, six; Tim Neptune, four; Winchenbach, three; and Warner, two. Tenacious D netted 3-of-8 (37 percent) free throws.

McClellan and Woodman combined for nine 3-pointers for Insanity.

Leading 50-47 with 3:05 remaining, Gallery got an offensive putback to put Insanity ahead five points. Carlsen then missed a pair of free throws, but a key offensive rebound by Gallery put McClellan in position to bury a trey from the corner with a minute left to clinch the game.

McClellan added another hoop late to round out the scoring, while Frost also hit a late 3-pointer for Tenacious D.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.