To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

Rockland woman receives Keller scholarship from Bigelow

Jul 19, 2016
Courtesy of: Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences Keller Scholarship winners Krisandra McNichol, left, and Elizaveta Maslak, right, accept their awards from Bigelow Laboratory Executive Director Graham Shimmield.

East Boothbay — Each year, Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences awards the Keller Scholarship to two rising undergraduate students from Maine who intend to major in the biological or earth sciences. Both winners are awarded a $1,000 scholarship to use for college expenses. Students must display remarkable academics, extracurriculars and leadership skills to receive this award.

The 2016 Keller Scholarship winners are Elizaveta Maslak of Waterville and Krisandra McNichol of Rockland. Maslak has been a student at Athens Academy (Athens, Ga.), Waterville Public High School and the Maine School of Science and Mathematics. She also participated in the Keller BLOOM Marine Research Program for high school juniors at Bigelow Laboratory. Maslak plans to pursue a major in environmental engineering at Dartmouth this fall.

McNichol attended Oceanside High School. She will major in microbiology at University of Maine this fall and wants to pursue a career in medicine. Both young women are active members of their schools’ clubs, athletic teams and arts programs.

The Keller Scholarship honors Dr. Maureen Keller, a former research scientist at Bigelow Laboratory. Dr. Keller’s research focused on marine phytoplankton, and she believed it was important to provide Maine students with the opportunity to learn about the marine environments that define so much of Maine’s economy, history, and culture.

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.
Note: If you signed up using our new subscriber portal, your username is the email address you registered with and your password is in all caps