To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

Rockland review of Habitat for Humanity plan postponed again

By Stephen Betts | Feb 15, 2021
Photo by: Stephen Betts This is where the proposed Talbot Avenue housing project would be developed.

Rockland — The Rockland Planning Board meeting --  which was to have focused on whether to recommend a contract zone change for Midcoast Habitat for Humanity's proposed project on Talbot Avenue -- has been postponed for two weeks.

The meeting had been scheduled for Tuesday evening, Feb. 16 but was postponed due to the pending winter storm.

The Habitat review and site visit at 165 Talbot Ave by the Planning Board is now scheduled for Tuesday, March 2.

This is the second postponement due to weather in the past two weeks. The review was scheduled originally for Feb. 2. The Planning Board holds in-person meetings rather than the online meetings that would not be affected by weather.

Habitat proposes building eight rental efficiency/one-bedroom residences that will each be 500 square feet; and three rental duplexes that will each have a one-bedroom (1,000 square-foot) and a three-bedroom (1,200-square foot) residence.

The rental properties would be managed by the Knox County Homeless Coalition.

There would also be five single-family homes each ranging in size from 1,000 to 1,500-square feet that would be sold to qualified applicants. Habitat homeowners must meet income guidelines and contribute sweat equity to the construction of their homes.

The 10.6 acres of undeveloped land is on the north side of Talbot Avenue, between Traverse Street and JRL Drive. Habitat purchased the land in June 2020 from Denis and Pauline Black for $200,000.

Any recommendation from the Planning Board would go to the City Council.

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at knox.villagesoup.com/join.
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at knox.villagesoup.com/donate.
Comments (12)
Posted by: Connie Beal | Feb 17, 2021 13:00

Spot zone here spot zone there. What happened to the comprehensive plan for the city.? This plan does not fit in with this area.



Posted by: Francis Mazzeo, Jr. | Feb 16, 2021 13:52

Valerie...there are many low income seniors that are not fortunate enough to be able to keep up with the cost of living today. There are many things wrong with our tax system but growing old isn't one of them. This country has plenty of wealthy people that scam the system and one of the biggest scammers  Is still being supported by republicans.



Posted by: Valerie Wass | Feb 16, 2021 09:35

Your right, Richard.  Steven's Green was built by filling in some of the swamp land.  It is against many codes that Rockland had in place at the time but yet, it was built.  So, yes, this will be built.  I have no problem with Habitat for Humanity.  I do however, have a major issue with many that take advantage of the system and get many things for free, while the hard working people of Maine, struggle.  Do we really need more low income housing?  What about our seniors?



Posted by: Richard McKusic, Sr. | Feb 16, 2021 06:59

Come on now. If Steven's Green, on Thomaston Street, had no trouble this site certainly should not. :)



Posted by: Lisa Diane Archer | Feb 15, 2021 19:49

Why not have a zoom meeting . Would be nice to bring this to completion before next winter, people are waiting for a decent roof over their heads.



Posted by: Valerie Wass | Feb 15, 2021 14:10

I do believe that a brook runs through the property.



Posted by: James Bowers | Feb 02, 2021 12:14

There's one small wet spot. I think it's a good location. I looked at that property.

 



Posted by: ANANUR FORMA | Feb 02, 2021 08:59

wet land? then forget about that area, seems to be not buildable.

It's the same with the proposed cell tower location next to Pizza Hut......... too squishy.



Posted by: ANANUR FORMA | Feb 02, 2021 07:28

Methodist Home on Summer Street Rockland for those who may not know about it?

https://affordablehousingonline.com/housing-search/Maine/Rockland/Methodist-Conference-Home/10007965



Posted by: ANANUR FORMA | Feb 02, 2021 07:27

I think...why not build another type building like the Methodist Home? That Home serves our community members very well,



Posted by: Trudy H Black | Feb 01, 2021 22:51

This is not the place...it's wet land.  Also will increase traffic, which speds through ....over the speed limit.



Posted by: ANANUR FORMA | Feb 01, 2021 21:53

will they pay property tax? might be out of range for many, if so.



If you wish to comment, please login.
Note: If you signed up using our new subscriber portal, your username is the email address you registered with and your password is in all caps