Olson House lecture details year-long effort

May 20, 2016
The Olson House in Cushing will re-open this summer after a year of renovations and discoveries.

Rockland — On Saturday, May 28, the Farnsworth Art Museum will present a lecture on the Olson House by Chief Curator Michael K. Komenecky. Titled What’s Historic About the Olson House After All, the lecture will take place in the downtown museum’s auditorium at 1 p.m.

In 2015, two major projects were undertaken at the Olson House, the Farnsworth’s National Historic Landmark property in Cushing. One was to install a fire suppression system; the other was the restoration of the house’s exterior woodwork, which involved installing pine clapboards and repairing various parts of wooden window and door trim. Both of these projects required extensive research and planning so as to minimize changes to the historic structure, while respecting as fully as possible its original appearance and materials.

The projects also afforded the museum the opportunity to study more fully the house’s history, including its history of restoration, and to determine how to best preserve the place that inspired some 300 works by Andrew Wyeth, the best known being his iconic 1948 tempera painting “Christina’s World.” The results of this undertaking will be presented by Komanecky, who directed the year-long project.

Fee for this lecture is $8, $5 for Farnsworth members Advance tickets are for sale in the museum store or main lobby admission desk; and may be purchased online at farnsworthmuseum.org.

Courier Publications’ A&E Editor Dagney C. Ernest can be reached at (207) 594-4401, ext. 115; or dernest@courierpublicationsllc.com.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.