North Haven residents say no to liquor

By Kim Lincoln | Mar 11, 2014
Photo by: Dagney C. Ernest The North Haven ferry landing is on the Fox Island Thorofare.

North Haven — For the third consecutive year, North Haven residents have voted against a proposal to allow the sale of liquor on the island.

Ninety-two residents attended the annual town meeting March 8 to approve budget-related articles, passing a $1.97 million budget, which is up about 2.5 percent. The meeting lasted about two hours.

In a vote of 66 to 22, residents shot down a proposal to allow alcohol sales on the island, according to Town Administrator Joseph Stone. The question also failed to pass at the 2012 and 2013 town meeting. In 2013, residents voted 66 to 32, Stone said.

The biggest expense is for the island's medical clinic: $238,960 from taxes and $125,000 to come from the clinic charges. A total of $92,324 was approved for Emergency Medical Services. Of that $81,124 will come from taxes and $11,200 from EMS fees.

Voters approved a $225,000 budget for administration, including town officer salaries. Of this amount, $162,700 will come from taxation, while $50,000 would be taken from surplus and $13,000 will be paid from an office fees account.

Residents also approved a $100,000 roads and bridges budget that includes road maintenance, patching and tarring, mowing and cutting bushes. Of that amount, $93,000 will come from excise taxes, $6,200 from the Department of Transportation and $792 from taxpayers. Taxpayers will spend $70,000 on snow removal ($58,500 from taxes and $11,500 from excise taxes). The town also approved a $2,169 overdraft in the snow removal budget for this year.

Other accounts approved: $34,410 for fire department; $150,898 for debt service retirement on a road repaving bond; $78,00 for road repaving; $58,125 for police protection;  $119,350 for solid waste and recycling ($59,357 from taxes.

Elected were:

Incumbent Selectmen Jon Emerson and Bill Bartovics were reelected to the board for three-year terms.

Incumbent Assessor Christie Hallowell was reelected to a three-year term.

Carolyn Taylor was elected to a two-year term on the Budget Committee.

Incumbent Laura Jermann was reelected to a three-year term on the Medical Services Board

Incumbents Nan Lee and Patsy Lannon were reelected to three-year term on the School Administrative 7 Board.

Incumbent Doug Record was reelected to a three-year term on the Planning Board

April Brown, who was recently appointed to the Board of Appeals to complete an unexpired term, was elected to a five-year term.

Longtime Road Commissioner Elliott Brown was reelected to another one-year term. He has served as road commissioner for more than 50 years.

Fire Chief Forrest Sprague was reelected to another one-year term.

Incumbent Harold Cooper was reelected to a three-year term on the Mullins Head Park Commission.

Laura Mewa and Gillian Thompson were elected to two-year terms on the Recreation Council.

Courier Publications Copy Editor Kim Lincoln can be reached at 594-4401 or by email at

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.