To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

Nominations sought for airport committee

Feb 28, 2021

Owls Head — The Airport Public Advisory Committee is asking for nominations.

The Commission is designed to provide a link between the mid-coast communities, the airport manager and the county.

The 10-seat committee is tasked to facilitate airport communications flow, to and from local communities and citizens, as well as provide aviation, environmental and business advice for airport management.

Committee members are appointed to the 10 seats, with staggered terms. The terms for the District 1 seat (representing Owls Head, Rockland, South Thomaston and Thomaston), the District 3 seat (representing Appleton, Camden, Criehaven Township, Hope, Isle Au Haut, Matinicus Isle Plantation, Muscle Ridge Islands, North Haven, Rockport and Vinalhaven or as designated by law), the environmental seat and the off-airport business seat expire this year. The By Laws allow individuals to serve up to three consecutive terms.

Dick Witherspoon from North Haven, is completing his second term and is willing to serve another, according to a news release from the airport manager.  But the County Commission will still consider any and all nominees and will fill these seats, for three-year terms, during the April 13 County Commission meeting.

Nominations should be sent to Airport Manager Jeremy Shaw ( or any current member of the APAC by March 3. The APAC will compile these nominations for the County Commission.  Citizens interested in becoming a member of the APAC should notify their town office as soon as possible.

The APAC normally meets the second Monday of each month, in the airport manager’s office at 5 p.m. There are four standing sub-committees (Environmental, Public Relations, Operations/Maintenance and Business Plan) which meet on an as needed basis.

All meetings are open to the public and anybody interested in attending any meeting or serving on one of the sub-committees should contact the airport manager or one of the APAC members:

District #1 Seat: Maynard Curtis of Owls Head (term expires: 2021)

District #2 Seat:  Roger Peabody of Warren (term expires: 2023)

District #3 Seat:  Dick Witerspoon of Vinalhaven (term expires: 2021)

Environmental Seat:  Vivian Newman of South Thomaston (term expires: 2021)

South Thomaston Seat:  Jan Gaudio of South Thomaston (term expires: 2023)

Business Seat:  Greg Peet of South Thomaston (term expires: 2021)

Airport Business Seat:  Bill Packard of Union (term expires: 2023)

Flying Club Seat:  Ron Vanosdol of Camden (term expires: 2022)

Commercial Pilot:  Katie Shaw of Owls Head (term expires: 2022)

Owls Head Seat: Adam Philbrook of Owls Head (term expires: 2022)

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.
Note: If you signed up using our new subscriber portal, your username is the email address you registered with and your password is in all caps