Mystery Book Club to discuss British-Asian crime series

Nov 30, 2019

Thomaston — The Thomaston Public Library Mystery Book Club will meet Thursday, Dec. 5, at 11 a.m., to discuss British-Asian crime writers Vaseem Khan and Abir Mukherjee. Khan is the author of the "Baby Ganesh Agency" series which begins with "The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra," and Mukherjee writes the "Wyndham & Banarjee" series, starting with "A Rising Man." Both series are set in India, though Khan writes of modern Mumbai and Mukherjee’s books are set in 1920s Calcutta. Book club members are welcome to read any book by either author.

From the publisher regarding Mukherjee’s A Rising Man:

“India, 1919. Desperate for a fresh start, Captain Sam Wyndham arrives to take up an important post in Calcutta’s police force. He is soon called to the scene of a horrifying murder. The victim was a senior official, and a note in his mouth warns the British to leave India – or else.

“With the stability of Empire under threat, Wyndham and Sergeant ‘Surrender-not’ Banerjee must solve the case quickly. But there are some who will do anything to stop them…”

From the publisher of The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra:

“Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce.

“On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve...

“But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai - from its richest mansions to its murky underworld - he quickly discovers that a baby elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs.

“So begins the start of a quite unexpected partnership, and an utterly delightful new series.”

The Thomaston Public Library Mystery Book Club meets the first Thursday of every month at 11 a.m. January's selection will be decided at December's meeting. For more information, contact the library at 354-2453.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.