Midcoast November political match-ups set

By Stephen Betts | Jun 14, 2018

Eyes now turn to November after the political parties nominated their candidates for the state Legislature and other offices June 12.

The general election will be Nov. 6. Absentee ballots will be available a month before Election Day.

State Sen. David Miramant, a Democrat from Camden, and Republican challenger Wendy Pelletier of Hope will face off on the ballot for the state Senate District 12 seat that represents all of Knox County except the town of Washington.

Miramant is serving his second consecutive two-year term in the state Senate.

District Attorney Jonathan Liberman, a Republican from West Bath, and Democrat Natasha Irving of Waldoboro will square off in November. Liberman was appointed to the post last year by Gov. Paul LePage following the departure of longtime District Attorney Geoffrey Rushlau, who was confirmed as a state district court judge.

Knox County Sheriff's Office Chief Deputy Tim Carroll is unopposed for the sheriff's post. Carroll, a registered Democrat from Owls Head, will succeed Sheriff Donna Dennison, who is retiring.

Dorothy Meriwether, a Democrat from South Thomaston, is unopposed for the Knox County Commission seat that represents Rockland, Thomaston, Owls Head and South Thomaston. The commission oversees county government, including the Knox County Sheriff's Office, the county jail and the Knox County Regional Airport.

Knox County Probate Judge Carol Emery, a St. George Republican, is also unopposed. She has served as the county's probate judge since 1990.

In local Maine House races, Democratic Rep. Pinny Beebe-Center of Rockland and Republican Maynard Stanley Jr. of Owls Head will face off for the House District 93 seat that represents Rockland and Owls Head.

Beebe-Center is serving her second consecutive term in the House.

Democrat Victoria "Vicki" Doudera of Camden and independent Rep. Owen Casas of Rockport will square off for the House District 94 seat that represents Camden, Rockport and Islesboro.

Casas is serving his first two-year term in the House.

Democrat Ann Matlack of St. George and Republican Justin Thompson of St. George are vying for the Maine House District 92 seat, which represents Cushing, South Thomaston, St. George, Thomaston and Matinicus Isle Plantation, plus the unorganized territories of Criehaven and Muscle Ridge Islands townships.

That seat is held by Rep. John Spear, a South Thomaston Democrat, who did not seek reelection to a second term.

Rep. Paula Sutton, a Republican from Warren, and independent William Pluecker of Warren are seeking the Maine House District 95 seat that represents Warren, Appleton, Hope and part of Union.

Sutton is completing her first term in the House.

Rep. Abden Simmons, a Republican of Waldoboro, and independent candidate Jeff Evangelos of Friendship are seeking the Maine House District 91 that represents Friendship, Waldoboro, Washington and part of Union.

Simmons is completing his first term in the House. Evangelos is a former House member.

In Maine House District 134, which covers much of Hancock County, as well as the Knox County towns of Vinalhaven, North Haven and Isle Au Haut. Democrat Genevieve McDonald of Stonington and Republican Philip Brady Jr. of Deer Isle will square off in November. The seat is being vacated by Democratic Rep. Walter Kumiega III of Deer Isle, who is barred by term limits from seeking a fifth consecutive term.

State Sen. Dana Dow, a Republican from Waldoboro, and Democratic challenger Laura Fortman of Nobleboro are vying for the Senate District 13, which represents the Knox County town of Washington as well as all of Lincoln County and a few Kennebec County towns.

Dow has served in both the Maine House and Senate.

And in Maine House District 96, which includes the Waldo County town of Lincolnville, incumbent Democratic Rep. Stanley Paige Zeigler Jr. of Montville and Republican challenger Robert Currier of Belmont will be on the November ballot.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.