To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

'Maine Wood 2020' at Messler Gallery

Jan 07, 2020
Federal gaming table by William Francis Brown of Camden.

ROCKPORT — "Maine Wood 2020" opens at the Messler Gallery at the Center for Furniture Craftsmanship, 25 Mill St., on Friday, Jan. 17. The opening reception and awards ceremony will be held from 5 to 7 p.m., and the public is welcome to attend.

"Maine Wood" is a juried, biennial exhibition designed to showcase the breadth, creativity and excellence of Maine’s woodworking community. “This is our seventh biennial,” said Peter Korn, executive director of the Center for Furniture Craftsmanship. “I’m happy to say that woodworking is thriving in Maine.” For 2020 the Center received 76 submissions from 48 Maine artists and artisans.

Furniture makers in the show include Nick Barboza, Hampden; David Boyle, Bath; William Francis Brown, Camden; Sam Cotton, Rockland; Dev Flaherty, Camden; Sayer G. Houseal, Rockport; Saer T. Huston, Kennebunkport; Heide Martin, Appleton; Jeffery Mazur, Boothbay; Daniel Monsees, Burnham; Kevin Rodel, Portland; Osamu Sassa, Camden; Scott Stuart, Arrowsic; Clayton Thompson for Endeavour Craftsmen, Rockland; and Christina M. Vincent, North Haven.

Woodworkers, sculptors, carvers and turners are Steve Bartlett, Bath; Clara Cohan, Cape Elizabeth; Dennis Curtis, Augusta; William L. Janelle, Bridgton; George Partal, Bangor; Malcolm Ray, Damariscotta; and Chelsea Van Voorhis, Cushing.

Several of Maine’s leading craft associations co-sponsor "Maine Wood." These include Maine Crafts Association, Maine Woodturners, and Maine Woodworkers Association. Décor Maine is the exhibit’s media sponsor.

Prizes totaling $2,400 donated by generous corporate sponsors will be awarded at the opening reception. These include gift certificates from DMT Diamond Whetstones for "Best Original Design;" from Lie-Nielsen Toolworks for "Jurors’ Best in Show;" from Packard Woodworks for "Best Turned Object;" from Rare Woods, USA for "Best Use of Wood;" from Rockler Woodworking and Hardware of South Portland for "Outstanding Craftsmanship;" from Tools for Working Wood for "Best New Maker;" and from Woodcraft of Portsmouth for "Best in Furniture." There is also a cash prize from Holt & Bugbee for "People’s Choice."

Jurors for this year’s biennial were Heidi Earnshaw, a furniture maker in Toronto, Ont.; Tom Huang, a designer/maker and associate professor of design at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kan.; and Jennifer Shirley, a woodturner/instructor in Plainfield, Ind.

The Center for Furniture Craftsmanship is a nonprofit, year-round school that offers courses in furniture making and related arts such as carving and woodturning. For more information and hours, call 594-5611, e-mail or visit

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.