To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

Maine Photography Show boasts selections from around the state

Apr 02, 2021
Photo by: Roberta Baumann "Kitzbueheler Alpen Salzach Valley" by Roberta Baumann of Rockland.

Statewide/Boothbay Harbor — The 16th annual Maine Photography Show opens April 10 and runs through May 7 at the Boothbay Region Art Foundation (BRAF) gallery in Boothbay Harbor, featuring the work of photographers from throughout the state.

After receiving more than 600 entries from over 200 photographers, juror Bruce Brown selected 110 photographs. Brown is a photographer, collector and curator for many art and photography exhibitions in Maine.

Categories in the exhibition include Black and White, Color, Student, and a Special Category entitled Community Celebrations.

Thanks to generous contributions from sponsors, cash prizes for all categories and a Best of Show will be awarded. Winners will be announced at the opening of the exhibition.

Knox County area participants are: Lisa Mossel Vietze of Appleton; Kit Remsen Aroneau of Camden; Karen Olson of Hope; Jon Tobiasz of Lincolnville; Emma Philbrook of Owls Head; Roberta Baumann, Nicholas Labreck, Jeanette Phillipps and Amy Wappler of Rockland; Harold McWilliams, Judith O'Dell, Kevin O'Malley and Reena Walkling of Rockport; Elizabeth Blackmer and Michael Hagenbuch of Tenants Harbor; and Kyle Santheson of Waldoboro.

Waldo County participants are: Laura Zamfirescu of Monroe; Bern Altman of Searsport; and Betsy Headley of Swanville.

Photos selected for the exhibition are highlighted in an online gallery and all entered work is also available to view at

"Dancing Flamingos" by Reena Walkling of Rockport.
If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.
Note: If you signed up using our new subscriber portal, your username is the email address you registered with and your password is in all caps