Knox-Lincoln Soil & Water Conservation District awards banquet Nov. 1

Oct 06, 2012

Knox-Lincoln Soil & Water Conservation District will hold its annual awards banquet on Nov. 1 at the Nobleboro Community Hall.

Every year at this event, the district recognizes individuals and organizations that have contributed in a significant way to local resource conservation efforts, either by adopting specific practices or by promoting activities that heighten awareness and concern for local conservation needs. The district board and staff invite the public to celebrate those who have supported the district and helped it fulfill the mission of conserving land and water resources in Knox and Lincoln counties. This year the district is honoring the following individuals and groups with awards:

· Marge Kilkelly and Joe Murray of Dragonfly Cove Farm - Cooperator of the Year

· Richard and Jean Vose of Knox-Lincoln County Beekeepers - Excellence in Conservation Education

· Peter Lammert, Maine Forest Service (retired) - Professional Service

· Lincoln Academy Climate Action Club and Pemaquid Watershed Association - Habitat Restoration

· Lorna Fake (Great Salt Bay Community School) and Cindy Sabina (Nobleboro Central School) - Conservation Teachers of the Year

· Daniel Goettel – District Volunteer of the Year

The festivities begin promptly at 6:30 p.m. with a delicious homemade meal (beef or vegetarian entrée) – and pies – followed by awards presentations and a guest speaker, Tony Jadczak, Maine state apiarist. Jadczak is a well known, speaker, and he will discuss the state of beekeeping in Maine.

Every one attending the banquet will receive a free raffle ticket for door prize drawings held throughout the evening. Pre-registration is required by Oct. 24. For more information and to register, visit the district website at or call 596-2040.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.