To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

Hope Planning Board vice chair resigns

By Daniel Dunkle | Jun 03, 2021

Hope — Planning Board Vice Chair Harold Mosher resigned June 2, citing concerns about the state of town government.

“I told the planning board at last night’s Zoom meeting that since there are those in town government intent on purging said government, noting that Langley Willauer (the board chair) was one of the targets, that I felt they would find me equally unsuitable and told the board I was resigning,” he said June 3.

“Last night was Langley’s last meeting; he was not asked if he would go for another term, and he did not ask if he could.”

He also said, “I have grown increasingly uncomfortable with the climate in Hope’s town government and think it is best that I am less involved.”

Willauer was serving both as the town bookkeeper and Planning Board chair until he was fired from the bookkeeping job by Town Administrator Samantha Mank in August 2020.

He raised concerns at a Select Board meeting soon after about the July 14 town meeting vote counts. This led to controversy in the town, which has been extensively reported previously. Select Board Chair Sarah Ann Smith called for Willauer’s resignation at one point.

According to the town of Hope website, Willauer’s term expires in 2021.

Lewis Merrifield also resigned from the Planning Board earlier this year.

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (1)
Posted by: Elizabeth Dickerson | Jun 03, 2021 21:33

And by the way folks, read the memo from the SOS concerning what REV you should be using for your absentee ballots. We are not now using REV 2013. Admirable that you realized that yes, you must supply absentees, but in fact, materials have evolved. Thank you.

If you wish to comment, please login.
Note: If you signed up using our new subscriber portal, your username is the email address you registered with and your password is in all caps