Gushee, McMullan vie for select board seat

By Louis Bettcher | Apr 19, 2018

Appleton — April 12 was the deadline for candidates seeking seats on committees in Appleton, and Jason Gushee and Drew McMullan have each returned papers seeking one seat on the select board.

The seat is for two years, the remainder of Scot Wiley's term following his resignation from the board earlier this year. Gushee currently serves on the select board, and was elected to serve a two-year term in 2016.

Two other seats are open on the select board, each for three-year terms. John Fenner, who currently serves as chairman, will be running unopposed for one of these seats. Heather Wyman is also running unopposed for a seat on the select board.

Stephen Wadsworth is running unopposed for one of two seats on the Appleton Village School Board. There are two seats available; each is for a three-year term. No one returned nomination papers to serve concurrently on the SAD 28/Five Town CSD School Board for one year.

There are four vacancies on the town's planning board. Two seats are for associate members, who would serve three-year terms. Two seats are for regular members, who would also serve three-year terms. No one returned nomination papers for these positions.

Voting takes place at the Appleton Town Hall on Tuesday, June 12 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. The Appleton Town Office is located at 2915 Sennebec Rd.



Comments (1)
Posted by: Claire Adams | Apr 19, 2018 12:18

It will be interesting to see how the town votes.  Appleton has the highest town taxes in Knox County.

If you wish to comment, please login.