Court games galore

Frank 106.9 to broadcast dozens of high school basketball games

Oceanside, Medomak Valley, Camden Hills, Belfast, Lincoln Academy, Boothbay, Mount View, Wiscasset spotlighted
By Staff | Nov 22, 2019

Rockland — Frank 106.9, WBQX-FM will broadcast Midcoast high school basketball for the ninth straight year beginning on Friday, Dec. 6.

Veteran broadcaster Don Shields — now in his 34th year calling high school basketball games — again will lead the coverage and be joined by Terry Spear and Chris Seavey for the 33-game high school regular-season schedule that will include games that involve Midcoast teams Oceanside, Medomak Valley of Waldoboro, Camden Hills of Rockport, Belfast, Lincoln Academy of Newcastle, Boothbay Region, Mount View and Wiscasset.

The station also plans to broadcast selected games involving those schools during the high school tournaments in February from Augusta and Bangor.

All games will be streamed via the Frank 106.9 Facebook page at mixlr.com/1069bball.

Shields, who also is the voice of the University of Maine women’s basketball team, has been the voice of Midcoast high school sports since 1985, during which time he has called more than 1,300 high school games.

Spear has covered basketball for more than two decades in the Midcoast, Biddeford and Bath-Brunswick markets. Seavey, a former Rockland District High School athletic standout, has more than a decade of on-air experience.

The high school basketball broadcast schedule, with the start of the pregame shows included, are as follows:

Friday, Dec. 6 — Belfast at Lincoln Academy boys, 6:15 p.m.

Tuesday, Dec. 10 — Camden Hills at Medomak Valley boys, 6:45 p.m.

Thursday, Dec. 12 — Lisbon at Boothbay boys, 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 13 — Oceanside at Camden Hills boys, 6:15 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 14 — John Bapst at Belfast:: girls at 11:45 a.m., boys to follow.

Tuesday, Dec. 17 — Erskine Academy at Camden Hills boys, 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 20 — Lincoln Academy at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.

Monday, Dec. 23 — Medomak Valley at Oceanside: girls at 4:45 p.m., boys to follow.

Friday, Dec. 27 — Oak Hill at Boothbay girls, 6:15 p.m.

Monday, Dec. 30 — Mount View at Oceanside boys, 12:45 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 2 — Cony at Medomak Valley boys, 6:45 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 3 — Oak Hill at Wiscasset boys, 6:15 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 4 — Mount Blue at Medomak Valley boys, 5:45 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 7 — Hall-Dale at Boothbay boys, 6:15 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 9 — Medomak Valley at Camden Hills boys, 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 10 — Wiscasset at Boothbay girls, 6:15 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 11 — Camden Hills at Oceanside boys, 12:45 p.m.; and Erskine Academy at Medomak Valley boys, 6:45 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 13 — Carrabec at Boothbay boys, 6:15 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 14 — Mount View at Oceanside girls, 5:45 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 16 — Lincoln Academy at Belfast boys, 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 17 — Oceanside at Medomak Valley: girls at 5:15 p.m., boys to follow.

Monday, Jan. 20 — Skowhegan at Medomak Valley boys, 12:45 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 22 — Brewer at Camden Hills boys, 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 24 — Maine Central Institute at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 28 — Belfast at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 29 — Mount Abram at Wiscasset boys, 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 31 — Oceanside at Lincoln Academy boys, 6:15 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 4 — Winslow at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.

Thursday, Feb. 6 — Mount View at Belfast, 6:15 p.m.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at sports@villagesoup.com or by phone at 594-4401.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.