Education briefs: graduates, honors, scholarships, awards

Jun 14, 2012
Anna Rose Mynick

Mynick earns Wellesley College Book Award

ROCKPORT — Nick Ithomitis, principal of Camden Hills Regional High School, announced that Anna Rose Mynick is the winner of the 2012 Wellesley College Book Award. This award is presented to a high school junior girl for her outstanding contribution to the school in terms of leadership, citizenship and scholastic achievement. Mynick was recognized and presented with The Norton Book of Women's Lives at the annual Camden Hills Regional High School Awards Assembly on May 25 in the Strom Auditorium.


Blauth named to Bates College dean’s list

LEWISTON —  Erika B. Blauth of Hope was named to the dean’s list at Bates College as a result of her scholastic standing during the fall and winter semesters of the 2011-2012 academic year. Blauth graduated from Bates on May 27, 2012, with a degree in psychology. She is a 2008 graduate of Camden Hills Regional High School and the daughter of Karen C. Brace of Hope.

Erika’s undergraduate activities included serving as co-captain of the Bates College Women’s Tennis team for two years, volunteering all four years in the Lewiston Public Schools, and working in the Bates Admissions office. Her thesis looked at the acculturation challenges faced by immigrant students who were part of the English as second language program in the Lewiston Public Schools.


Bartlett a GLOBALEYES Scholar

The Council on International Educational Exchange announced that Mackenzie Bartlett, a student at Oceanside High School, has been chosen as a 2012 GLOBALEYES Scholar.

Bartlett will receive a $1,000 scholarship toward her college tuition at Southern Maine Community College. Each year CIEE offers American high school students a chance to win college scholarships by submitting an essay on a topic related to cultural exchange. Bartlett won for her essay that provided an example of how exchanging ideas with someone from another culture — whether through a trip abroad, through interaction with an exchange student in the U.S., or through conversations with another member of the local community — has shifted her point of view.

For more information on cultural exchange visit, or contact local coordinator Virginia Doss at or 877-205-1828.


Beloit College Dean's List

BELOIT, Wis. — Orion Pearce of Rockland was named to Beloit College's dean's list for the spring semester. Beloit College is a residential liberal arts college offering 40 majors to its 1,250 students. Located 90 miles northwest of Chicago, Beloit is one of the nation's most international colleges, drawing students from 41 nations as well as 48 states.


Colby-Sawyer College dean's list

NEW LONDON, N.H. — Colby-Sawyer College has named Rachel Catherine Keefe from Rockland to the dean's list for academic achievement during the 2012 spring semester. Colby-Sawyer College is a comprehensive college that integrates the liberal arts and sciences with professional preparation.


Marist College

POUGHKEEPSIE, N.Y. — Grace Buckley of Rockport received a bachelor of professional studies degree in fashion merchandising. Marist is an independent comprehensive liberal arts college with an enrollment of 4,200 full-time undergraduate students.


Roger Williams University School of Law

BRISTOL, R.I. — Jesse Ray Passmore of Owls Head received a juris doctor degree from the Roger Williams University School of Law during commencement ceremonies May 18.

Passmore served as vice chair of the Honor Board and executive vice president of the Student Bar Association. He was a member of the Honors Program and the Intellectual Property Law Society. He served as law clerk at Alex & Ani Inc., Cranston, R.I.; judicial extern at the U.S. District Court of Rhode Island with Federal Magistrate Lincoln D. Almond, Providence; and intern for the Civil Unit at the Rhode Island Office of the Attorney General, Providence.

Passmore earned a bachelor of arts in history and psychology from New York University, N.Y. He is the son of Holly Ann Leuning of Owls Head, and the late Scott Lee Passmore.


Western New England University

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — Jeremy R. Walker of Camden has been named to the dean's list at Western New England for the spring semester of 2012. Walker is a graduating senior majoring in accounting. Western New England University is a private, independent, coeducational institution founded in 1919.


Husson University dean's list

The following Midcoast students have been named to the dean’s list at Husson University for the spring semester 2012. To be named to the dean’s list, students must earn a 3.4 or better grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

Samuel Butler of Appleton; Adam Landwehr and Joseph F. Lynch of Camden; Gabrielle A. Duke, Elise Kaserman and Samuel Smith of Rockport; Leia V. Dennison, Logan Fogg and Chelsea Hawksley of Rockland; Jared Melkin and Jacob Veilleux of Thomaston; Jennifer R. O’Jala and Jason Vinal of Union; Kristy Benner and Dylan S. Walker of Waldoboro; Kabryn L. Sturdee of Washington; and Dustin T. Blackington, Lacy T. Massengale, Patrick O’Donnell, Jenna Watts and Travis Wilson of Warren.

Salve Regina

NEWPORT, R.I. — Callie Hand of Lincolnville, who graduated in May, and Bethany Snow of Thomaston, who will be a senior, were named to the dean's list during the spring 2012 semester at Salve Regina University. Salve Regina, a Catholic, co-educational university founded by the Sisters of Mercy, enrolls more than 2,500 undergraduate and graduate students. Its 80-acre oceanfront campus is in the heart of the Ochre Point-Cliffs National Historic District.


Saint Anselm College

MANCHESTER, N.H. — The following students were named to the dean's list for the spring 2012 semester at Saint Anselm College: Kristen M. Bridge of Camden, an English major and a member of the class of 2013; Miranda J. Conary of Warren, a biology major and a member of the class of 2012; Kayla B. Hart of Rockport, a nursing major and a member of the class of 2015; and Haley Elizabeth Turner of Warren, an economics major and a member of the class of 2015.


Courier Publications news staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at

Erika Blauth
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.