Dutton named vice-chairman of federal juvenile justice committee

Feb 11, 2014
Dalene Dutton

Dalene Dutton, executive director of Five Town Communities That Care, has been elected vice-chairman of the Federal Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice.

The committee is a consultative body established by the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act and supported by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. Composed of appointed representatives of the nation’s state advisory groups, the committee advises the president and Congress on matters related to juvenile justice, evaluates the progress and accomplishments of juvenile justice activities and projects, and advises the OJJDP administrator on the work of OJJDP.

Dutton was elected to the FACJJ body in September 2011, and currently serves as co-chairman of FACJJ’s Youth Engagement Committee. Before joining the FACJJ, Dutton was appointed to Maine’s Juvenile Justice Advisory Group in 2008 by Gov. John Baldacci.

A former science teacher at Camden Hills Regional High School, she has been working in the field of prevention since 2003 when she began serving as a community coordinator for the Community Youth Development Study — an experimental test of the Communities That Care (CTC) system.

CTC is a data-driven approach to mobilizing communities to address the predictors of problem adolescent behavior with programs, policies, and practices that have been proven to work. Five Town CTC focuses on preventing adolescent substance abuse, violence, delinquency, school dropout, teenage pregnancy, and suicide. For more information, visit fivetownctc.org or call 236-9800.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.