To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

McDonald gets Democratic challenger

Dow seeks re-election to state Senate

By Stephen Betts | Jan 07, 2020

Waldoboro — Republican State Sen. Dana Dow of Waldoboro has registered to seek a third consecutive term.

Dow registered Dec. 30 with the Maine Commission on Governmental Ethics and Election Practices for the Senate District 13 seat.

The seat represents Waldoboro, Washington, Monhegan Island Plantation, Jefferson, Alna, Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Bremen, Bristol, Damariscotta, Edgecomb, Hibberts Gore, Louds Island, Newcastle, Nobleboro, Somerville, South Bristol, Southport,  Westport Island, Whitefield, Windsor, and Wiscasset.

No other candidate has registered to seek the seat.

Dow serves as the Senate Republican Leader. He also serves on the Legislature's Marine Resources Committee.

Dow served in the state Senate from 2004 through 2008 and represented Waldoboro, Bremen, Nobleboro and Jefferson in the Maine House from 2010 to 2012.

A native of Waldoboro, Dow is a former schoolteacher and is the owner and president of Dow Furniture, a family business in Waldoboro. He has also served on the SAD 40 Board, Region 8 Vocational School Board, and the Waldoboro Planning Board.

Party candidates have until March 16 to file nomination papers with the Maine Secretary of State to formally be on the June 9 primary ballot. Un-enrolled candidates – also referred to as independents – have until June 1 to file nomination papers to get on the November general election ballot.

The winners of the party primaries and un-enrolled candidates will face off on the general election Nov. 3.

Waldo County Senate seat

A Republican has also registered to run for the state Senate District 11 seat that represents Waldo County.

Duncan Milne of Liberty registered Jan. 6 for the seat. He would challenge incumbent Sen. Erin Herbig of Belfast.

Herbig has yet to file papers with the elections commission. She is serving her first term in the Senate.

The district represents Lincolnville, Islesboro, Belfast, Belmont, Brooks, Burnham, Frankfort, Freedom, Jackson, Knox, Liberty, Monroe, Montville, Morrill, Northport, Palermo, Prospect, Searsmont, Searsport, Stockton Springs, Swanville, Thorndike, Troy, Unity, Waldo, and Winterport.

House seat representing Penobscot Bay islands

A Democratic primary battle may be in the works for the Maine House District 134 seat that includes Vinalhaven and North Haven.

Democrat Julie Eaton of Deer Isle registered Jan. 5 to seek the seat currently held by Democratic Rep. Genevieve McDonald of Stonington. McDonald registered Nov. 22.

McDonald serves on the Marine Resources Committee.

The district also represents the towns of Stonington, Deer Isle, Isle au Haut, Cranberry Isles, Frenchboro, Southwest Habor, Swan's Island, Tremont, and Marshall Island Township.

Other seats

State Rep. Stanley Paige Zeigler, D-Montville, registered Jan. 6 to seek re-election to Maine House District 96 that represents Lincolnville, Liberty, Belmont, Montville, Morrill, Palermo, and Searsmont.

No other candidates have registered for that district.

Late last year, incumbent Democratic Sen. David Miramant of Camden and Republican challenger Gordon Page of Owls Head registered to seek the state Senate District 12 seat which covers all of Knox County except Washington.

State Democratic Rep. Vicki Doudera of Camden also registered last month for re-election to the House District  94 seat which represents Camden, Rockport, and Islesboro.

No other candidates have registered for that district.

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.