Avirett takes out papers for school board

Davis, Dorr join race for Rockland City Council

By Stephen Betts | Sep 11, 2018
Nathan Davis

Rockland — Nathan Davis, who volunteers on multiple city committees and is a founder of an entrepreneurial center in Rockland, is the latest candidate for the Rockland City Council.

Davis took out nomination papers Monday, Sept. 10, for the single open three-year seat  at the Nov. 6 municipal election. The seat is held by Councilor Adam Ackor, who is not seeking reelection.

Davis is the chief technology officer and co-founder of the Steel House, a center for design, technology and education, located on Main Street.

The Fulton Street resident serves on the Energy Advisory Committee, and the Board of Assessment Review.

Davis is the fourth person to take out nomination papers. No one has yet returned them.

The deadline for filing nomination papers is Monday, Sept. 24.

Also taking out papers have been Benjamin Dorr of James Street, Dale Hayward of North Main Street, and Brandy Perkins of Marks Lane.

Dorr, along with Emily Seymour, opened the men's consignment store Curator on Main Street in May 2016.

Perkins works at U.S. Cellular and has lived in Rockland nearly all her life. She has served on the Coast Guard City Committee, currently serves on the Maine Lobster Festival Board and is a past member of its executive board. She has also been a participant and volunteer for Rockland Maine Street.

Hayward is retired. He has previously driven tour buses and was the owner of Seaport Office Supply on Main Street in Rockland.

Shortage of school board candidates

Thus far, there is only one formal candidate for the three seats representing Rockland on the Regional School Unit 13 Board. A second person has taken out papers.

Doug Curtis Jr. is seeking a three-year seat. He filed his nomination papers this week and has qualified for the Nov. 6 ballot.

Chelsea Avirett of Fulton Street has taken out papers for a three-year seat.

Two of the open seats are for three years and one is for one year.

The seats are held by Thomas Peaco, Nancy Jeffers and Vera Roberts.

Jeffers said she would not seek reelection. Peaco said he was uncertain if he would run again. Roberts has not responded to an email on whether she would seek election.

Ian Emmott has taken out papers for a one-year seat on the Rockland Port District. This had been the seat held by Capt. Richard Spear for 64 years. Spear died May 3.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.