To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

DaPonte concert series continues April 24

Apr 23, 2021
DaPonte String Quartet

Rockport — DaPonte String Quartet's six-part series of online concerts continues Saturday, April 24, with "Part 4: Mozart String Quartet in C Major" premiering at

Filmed at Rockport Opera House in early 2021, the April 24 concert release is a work from 1785 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, which was dedicated to Haydn. This quartet in four movements, nicknamed “Dissonance," is among the greatest quartet compositions in history.

The first movement establishes the dissonance early, through a brooding lack of harmonic resolution—a civilized, yet anxious, conversation among four voices. The slow, sweet Andante movement is developed with overtones of loss, a sense of the shadow that can shroud a heart in despair. The third, very melodic movement includes a shift to a minor key, bringing a restlessness to bear. The rich rondo of the fourth movement brings a lively lyricism with unexpected harmonies—a fitting finale to a beautiful piece that for centuries has cast a bright light into Mozart’s innovative mind.

Concerts 1, 2 and 3, which include Beethoven, Schulhoff and Shostakovich pieces, are already available for free online at Additional premiere dates are: May 15, "Stravinsky: Three pieces for String Quartet;" and June 5, "Ravel: String Quartet in F Major."

For more information, visit

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.
Note: If you signed up using our new subscriber portal, your username is the email address you registered with and your password is in all caps