Camden Hills librarian named Knox County Teacher of the Year

May 12, 2017
Courtesy of: Iris Eichenlaub Iris Eichenlaub was named County Teacher of the Year for Knox County May 11 in Augusta. She is pictured here, at the event, with Camden Hills Principal Robert Sampson.

Camden — Iris Eichenlaub, a librarian at Camden Hills Regional High School, has been named a Maine County Teacher of the Year and is a finalist for Maine Teacher of the Year, an honor awarded each year to one teacher in Maine.

Teachers from each of Maine’s 16 counties were honored May 11 in Augusta’s State Capitol at an annual event in the Hall of Flags announcing the 2017 Maine County Teachers of the Year.

Eichenlaub earned her bachelors degree in Library and Information Services from the University of Maine at Augusta in 2008 and received a master’s degree in Library and Information Science from San Jose State University in 2013. She joined the Camden Hills faculty in 2014 as the technology integrator and was hired as the librarian/technology integrator in 2015. Eichenlaub and her family live in Hope.

The educators were each nominated by a member of their community for their exemplary service in education, and dedication to their students, according to a news release from the Department of Education. They were selected by a distinguished panel of teachers, principals and business community members from a pool of hundreds of other nominated teachers in their communities.

Other 2017 County Teachers of the Year are:

Androscoggin: Nesrene Griffin, Governor James Longley School

Aroostook: Leslie Marquis, Fort Kent Community School

Cumberland: Brooke Teller, Casco Bay High School

Franklin: Allison Warman, Rangeley Lakes School

Hancock: Marielle Edgecomb, The Peninsula School

Kennebec: Lisette Bordes, Messalonskee High School

Lincoln: Christopher Coleman, Great Salt Bay Community School

Oxford: Janet Harriman, Sacopee Valley High School

Penobscot: Kasie Giallombardo, Nokomis High School

Piscataquis: Kaitlin Young, SeDoMoCha Elementary School

Sagadahoc: John Dever, Mt. Ararat High School

Somerset: Eric Brown, Lawrence High School

Waldo: Christi Goosman, Searsport District High School

Washington: Rhonda Stevens, Beatrice Rafferty School

York: Jen England, Noble High School

Ambassadors for teachers, students, and quality education in Maine, these teachers will continue to participate in the intensive State Teacher of the Year selection process, including the submission of a video showcasing their classroom instructional practices.

The field will be narrowed to eight semi-finalists who will begin working on their professional portfolio, a component of the National Teacher of the Year process. After the portfolio review and presentations to a select panel, the field is narrowed to three finalists. In October, the 2018 Maine Teacher of the Year will be selected after a school site visit and final interview.

The Maine Teacher of the Year is a program of the Maine Department of Education, administered by Educate Maine, a business-led organization working to ensure Maine’s students and workers are the best educated and highly skilled in the world.

For more information, visit

Comments (1)
Posted by: Ellen Spring | May 13, 2017 09:06

Congratulations Iris!  This was a wonderful selection and you highly deserve it, as you bring honor to all school librarians/teachers.


Ellen Spring

If you wish to comment, please login.