Bates, Pelletier and Feyler seek election to MMA committee

By Louis Bettcher | Jul 09, 2018
Source: Facebook

Three public officials from Rockport, Hope and Union are seeking two available seats to represent Senate District 12 on the Maine Municipal Association's Legislative Policy Committee. Senate District 12 is comprised of 17 towns including Camden, Rockland and Thomaston.

The three nominees are Rick Bates, Wendy Pelletier and Jay Feyler. Bates currently serves as the town manager for Rockport, Pelletier serves on the Hope Board of Selectmen and Feyler is Union's town manager.

The select boards of each town within Senate District 12 receive their own ballot, on which the board votes for two of the three nominees. At a June meeting, members of the Rockport Select Board chose Bates and Feyler as their nominees.

Ballots from each of the 17 municipalities must be returned to the MMA by Aug. 2. In addition to the three nominees, municipal officials may vote for a "write-in" nominee. The candidates to receive the most votes are then elected to the committee for terms of two years.

The Legislative Policy Committee consists of 70 members, plus MMA’s vice president, who serves as the chair. According to the MMA's website, the mission of the LPC is to "define municipal interests and to maximize those interests through effective participation in the legislative process." The committee is tasked with reviewing advocacy priorities and taking a stance on how specific legislative proposals affect municipalities.

Candidate profiles were submitted to each of the 17 towns by the MMA, along with official ballots. The profiles describe the positions each of the nominees have held, as well as their reasons for running and goals if elected.

Bates has served as Rockport's town manager for five years, prior to which he served as manager in the towns of Sabbatus, Maine and Raymond, N.H. He currently serves on the MMA's executive committee and has served on the LPC over the past year. Bates said he wants to ensure that municipal issues are properly carried through the legislative process and that the MMA has the full support of its members when lobbying.

In her profile, Pelletier said that she would like to observe how the LPC evaluates issues and comes to a decision on bills that go before the committee. She "also supports keeping local government responsive to their constituents by respecting the state and U.S. Constitutions." Pelletier has served as a selectperson in Hope for eight years, some of which was spent as vice chair. She also represents Hope on the Mid-Coast Solid Waste Board.

Feyler has been Union's town manager for 11 years and is also president of the Maine Welfare Directors Association. In the past he has served on the School Board, Appeals Board, Budget Committee and Board of Selectmen. He has been a member of the LPC since 2014 and if he were to continue on the Committee, his goals are to end unfunded state mandates and fight against legislative raids on revenue sharing.

The 17 towns in Senate District 12 are Appleton, Camden, Cushing, Friendship, Hope, Isle Au Haut, Matinicus Isle Plantation, North Haven, Owls Head, Rockland, Rockport, Saint George, South Thomaston, Thomaston, Union, Vinalhaven and Warren.



Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.