To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

20 on ballot for budget committee

By Daniel Dunkle | Oct 15, 2020
Source: File photo Voting in Rockport on town meeting items Aug. 18.

Rockport — The good news if you are voting in Rockport in this election is that you have plenty of choice when it comes to electing a budget committee member. The bad news is that some of the 20 names on the ballot for three budget committee positions may belong to people who have no interest in serving on the committee.

Members of the Select Board asked Town Manager Bill Post about this in their Tuesday night Oct. 13 meeting.

There were four vacancies on the budget committee in the Aug. 18 town meeting vote. Post explained that only one person submitted nomination papers to be on the ballot as a candidate.

When the people voted in August, they wrote in the names of quite a few fellow residents.

“Our charter says that in the event of a tie, which there was because of the large number of people receiving one write-in vote, a run-off election will be held in November,” Post said in an email. “The Town’s attorney advised that Town Clerk Linda Greenlaw could attempt to contact all of those receiving write-in votes and ask if they wished to remain on the ballot in November. Linda was able to eliminate some names after contacting some (not all) of those receiving original write-in votes as well as eliminating those that are either already on the budget committee or not residents of Rockport.”

He added, “Unfortunately, Linda was not able to reach all of those receiving write-in votes and some she did reach wanted to be on the ballot. So, we have a large number of ‘candidates’ on the ballot for budget committee.”

The following are the names listed on the ballot for the three remaining budget committee seats:

Budget Committee 3-year term, vote for 2

Bobby G. Caldwell

Gregory Domareki

Robert Duke, Jr.

John Enriquez

Desmond Fitzgerald

John Foss

Caroline Lafura

Richard Lane

Charles Plaisted

Scott Robinson

Mario Turi

Ralph Wallace

Budget Committee one-year term, vote for one

John Delano

Hannah Demmons

Daniel Dibner

Desmond Fitzgerald

Lisa Genasci

Delores Michelle Hannan

John Priestly

Martin Thurston

Clayton Tolman

Ralph Wallace

If your name is on the list and you have not talked to the Town Clerk, please get in touch with the Rockport Town Office and provide your contact information to them.

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.