AUGUSTA — Belfast Lions, Mount View Mustangs and Camden Hills Windjammers were among the high school student-athletes selected for All-State recognition — for excellence on the field and in the classroom — by the Maine Field Hockey Association.

Camden Hills senior midfelder Claudine Webber (Class A North), Belfast senior midfielder Kara Richards (Class B North) and Mount View senior midfielder Greta Ahlefeld (Class C North) were selected All-State for their class and region.

Additionally, area players who made the grade as academic All-State were Belfast’s Brynne Sawyer, Camden Hills’ Theresa Hodgkins, Ilanna Lam and Webber and Mount View’s Ahlefeld and Dakota Jones.

The All-State team selections — which include Webber, Ahlefeld and Richards — will be recognized at the annual awards ceremony on Sunday, Dec. 4 at 1 p.m. at the Augusta Civic Center.

Players selected academic All-State have been recognized with a certificate and do not attend the ceremony.

Criteria for All-State team selection include:

• Performs consistently at high skill level.

• Possesses leadership on and off field.

• Exhibits excellent sportsmanship.

• Is dedicated to field hockey.

Each varsity coach can nominate up to three players from his/her team for this honor. The nominees are voted on by varsity coaches in the state. Each coach may vote for up to 11 players, not including their own players.

There were 67 student-athlete recognized as All-State — 29 in Class A, 24 in Class B and 14 in Class C.

Criteria for senior academic All-State were:

• Must rank in top 10 percent of class and/or achieve a grade-point average of 95 (3.85) or better for three years.

• Must be a current member of the varsity field hockey team and must have been involved in the field hockey program for at least two years.

• Must have made a significant contribution to the team during this season.

• Must be a senior and of good moral character.

One hundred student-athletes were recognized as academic All-State.

The 2022 Miss Maine Field Hockey finalists are Hope Bouchard, midfielder from Lawrence High School in Fairfield; Khianna Jackson, midfielder from Biddeford High School; Zoey Pennell, back from Thornton Academy in Saco; and Haley-Jane Tuplin, midfielder/forward from Lisbon High School.

Miss Maine Field Hockey recognizes the best senior player in the state.

Additionally, the Steph Lunt 12th Player Award went to Aleya Fogg of Massabesic High School in Waterboro.

The criteria for the Lunt award, given to a senior, includes: Positive outlook, sense of humor, love of field hockey, leadership qualities and dedication to the team.

MaineStay Media/VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by email at