Voters in District 40 have returned incumbent Democrat Stanley Paige Zeigler of Montville to the Maine House of Representatives for a fourth and final term.

In his new district, Zeigler will represent the people of Appleton, in Knox County, and the Waldo County towns of Islesboro, Liberty, Lincolnville, Montville, Morrill and Searsmont.

With the last town (Montville) reporting election results at 12:41 a.m. Nov. 9, The Republican Journal tallied 2,928 votes for Zeigler and 2,073 votes for Joseph M. McLaughlin of Lincolnville, his Republican challenger. Zeigler carried six of the seven towns in the district.

McLaughlin stepped up to run in July after the original GOP candidate, Tricia M. Harrington, withdrew in late June.

First elected to the Maine House in 2016, Zeigler, a retired Merchant Marine, has served on the Joint Standing Committee on Environment and Natural Resources and the Joint Standing Committee on Energy Utilities and Technology. In the House he has focused on environmental issues, championing affordable renewable energy, removal of plastics from our landfills and measures to protect our drinking water from PFAS.