Democrats and one independent swept the state Legislative races across Knox County, keeping all the seats that they had held.

Democrat Anne “Pinny” Beebe-Center of Rockland was elected to the state Senate for District 12, defeating Republican Scott Rocknak of Camden. Beebe-Center won with 12,298 votes to Rocknak’s 8,522. That is a margin of 59 percent to 41 percent.

Beebe-Center had previously served in the Maine House (2015 to 2020), representing Rockland and Owls Head. She did not seek reelection in 2020.

State Sen. David Miramant, D-Camden, was unable to seek reelection because of the state law which limits legislators to no more than four consecutive terms for the same seat.

District 12 includes all of Knox County, except the towns of Washington and Isle au Haut.

Beebe-Center won by large margins in Camden, Rockland and Rockport. Rocknak was backed strongly in Warren and Union.

For state Senate District 13, Democrat Cameron Reny, an educator from Round Pond, defeated former Republican state Rep. Abden Simmons of Waldoboro. Reny received 11,884 votes to 9,902 for Simmons.

First-term Democratic state Sen. Chloe Maxmin of Nobleboro did not seek reelection.

District 13 covers Lincoln County, as well as the Knox County town of Washington and the Kennebec town of Windsor.

In state Senate District 7, which is Hancock County municipalities and Knox County’s Isle au Haut, Democratic candidate Nicole Grohoski won against Republican Brian Langley. Grohoski received 12,689 and Langley received 8,936. On Isle au Haut, Grohoski received 46 votes and Langley 13.

Senate and House seats are for two-year terms.

Incumbent state Rep. Valli Geiger, D-Rockland, defeated Republican challenger Roger Tranfaglia of Rockland 2,459 (64 percent) to 1,406 (36 percent).

Geiger will be serving her second term in the House, representing the reconfigured House District 42 which represents Rockland, North Haven, Criehaven and part of Owls Head. She previously served on the Rockland City Council including one year as mayor.

Democratic Rep. Vicki Doudera of Camden won reelection by defeating Susan Lee Butterworth 4,055 to 1,327 for House District 43 that consists of Camden and Rockport. That is is a margin of 75 percent to 25 percent.

Doudera will be serving her third term in the House.

Rep. Ann Matlack, D-St. George, defeated Republican Heather Anne Sprague of Cushing 2,879 (60 percent) to 1,947 (40 percent).

Matlack will be serving her third term in the House.

District 43 represents Cushing, Thomaston, South Thomaston, St George and the remainder of Owls Head.

Rep. William Pluecker, an independent from Warren, defeated Republican challenger Crystal Lynn Robinson 2,367 (54 percent) to 2,015 (46 percent). He will be serving his third term in the House.

House District 44 includes Hope, Union and Warren.

Democrat Clinton Collamore of Waldoboro defeated Republican Lynn Madison of Waldoboro. Collamore had 2,083 (51 percent) votes compared to 2,045 (49 percent) for Madison. Collamore is a veteran municipal official for Waldoboro. Madison is an attorney.

The seat had been held by independent Rep. Jeffrey Evangelos of Friendship who did not seek reelection.

House District 45 includes Friendship, Washington, Waldoboro, Bremen and Louds Island.

State Rep. Stanley Paige Zeigler, a Democrat from Montville, defeated Republican Joseph McLaughlin of Lincolnville for Maine House District 40. Zeigler will be serving his fourth term in the House. Zeigler won 2,928 (59 percent) to 2,073 (41 percent).

District 40 consists of Appleton, Islesboro, Liberty, Lincolnville, Montville, Morrill and Searsmont.

In House District 15, Democrat Holly Eaton of Deer Isle defeated Republican Jason Joyce of Swans Island 2,834 to 2,415.

House District 15 consists of the Knox County towns of Vinalhaven and Isle au Haut, and the Hancock County towns of Brooklin, Deer Isle, Frenchboro, Southwest Harbor, Stonington, Swans Island and Tremont. Vinalhaven supported Eaton 369 to 340.

Incumbent Rep. Genevieve McDonald, D-Stonington, did not seek reelection.

For Knox County government seats, there were no contests. Democratic Sheriff Patrick Polky of St. George, Republican Judge of Probate Carol Emery of St. George and Democratic District Attorney Natasha Irving of Waldoboro (who also represents Lincoln, Waldo and Sagadahoc counties) were reelected.

Emery was the only Republican to win a seat in Knox County. She has held the probate judge post since 1990. The term is for four years.

Democrat Edward Glaser of Rockland won election to the Knox County Commission. He will succeed Democrat Dorothy Meriwether of South Thomaston who did not seek reelection. Glaser’s term on the Rockland City Council, where he serves as mayor, ends next week. The County Commission seat is for four years.

More election results can be found at our free election website: