Seacoast Security, Inc. of West Rockport, presented two scholarships to deserving young students pursuing the trades in secondary education programs.

Dominic Athearn, of Warren, received a $1,000 scholarship to support his entrance into an Electrician Technology program. Dominic graduated from Medomak Valley High School and will be attending Southern Maine Community College this fall.

Lucas Castles, of Gorham, received a $1,000 scholarship to support his pursuit of an Electrical Construction and Maintenance degree. Lucas graduated from Gorham High School and will be attending Northern Maine Community College this fall.

The awards were presented to the two students at the main office of Seacoast Security by owners Scott Haynes and Stephen Haynes. Following the awards, the students took a tour of the Seacoast facilities to learn more about the company and opportunities and services that Seacoast Security provides.

The Seacoast Security scholarship program offers two, $1,000 scholarships each year to students pursuing a career in the trades at a Maine technical school. Earlier this year, Seacoast Security announced this opportunity to invest in trades education as part of its efforts to support education in trade programs.

Scott Haynes, president of Seacoast Security, Inc., said, “It is great to see young people who are excited about entering the trades. We hope to see more students recognize the opportunities here in Maine that skilled trades education provides. Investing in these young men is important to us, and we are excited to help them pursue these careers.”

In 2023, Seacoast Security scholarship program will again award $1,000 each, to two more students. Students must be attending a Maine technical school in the Fall of 2023. Payments will be made directly to the school on behalf of the student. To apply, students can visit and apply online starting Jan. 31, 2023. The scholarship application deadline is April 30, after which the Seacoast Security scholarship committee will review all applications and announce the winners.

filed under: