WISCASSET — A blustery and chilly June evening did not deter a large contingent of fans and race teams from packing into Wiscasset Speedway on Saturday, June 18 for the track’s annual Ames Ture Value NEMA Night.

The lightning-fast asphalt spring cars highlighted a full Group 1 program, along with Pro Stocks, 4-Cylinder Pros, Super Streets and Thunder 4 Minis.

Again, major speed and track records were in the crosshairs of the invading drivers from the North Eastern Midget Association. Avery Stoehr of Lakeville, Conn. showed the coastal Maine speed plant is quickly becoming one of his favorites, as he ran to a dominating win in the 25-lap NEMA Midget spotlight feature.

In doing so, he nearly broke his own track record of 12.875 seconds around the 3/8-mile banked oval, as he missed the mark by .001 seconds.

In Coastal Autoparts victory lane, Stoehr joked “sorry to disappoint you guys” when told how close he came to beating the record he had set just a year earlier.

Perennial contenders and NEMA champions John Zych and Randy Cabral joined Stoehr in victory lane.

In the 25-lap support feature for the NEMA Lites, reigning division champ Jake Trainor of Medway, Mass. took just three laps to charge to the front and held off all challengers for his first win of the season.

In the regular Group 1 action, points leader Daniel Harding led the 25-lap,caution-free feature for the Brackett’s Market 4-Cylinder Pro Division from green to checkers for his first win of the season. In victory lane, he dedicated his win to a close family friend who had passed away a couple of weeks prior.

Ben Burgess, who had his breakthrough first career win in the previous race, backed it up with a runner-up finish. They were joined in victory lane by Josh Hall, who earlier in the night was honored as the track’s Four Season Synthetic driver of the month.

The Norm’s Used Cars Pro Stocks were the next class on the track, and it came down to a showdown between the division’s top two drivers, namely, Josh St Clair and Kevin Douglass. Steven Chicoine and St Clair led the 16-car field to the green for the 40-lap feature. Following a lap-one caution, the race settled into a green flag run where St Clair held the lead while being chased by points leader Douglass. After following St Clair for several circuits around the track, Douglass drove around him to grab the lead on lap 29.

A late-race caution again bunched up the field and the two put on a clinic of hard, yet respectful, racing. St Clair retook the lead and ran to the checkers for his second Pro Stock win of the year — and seventh win overall across four divisions. Douglass, a two-time winner himself, took home the runner-up trophy. Jamie Wright of Woolwich turned in a strong effort, to take the third-place trophy after a strong battle with Chicoine. The division’s previous race winner Nick Reno charged up from the back of the field to complete the top five.

The Market 27 Super Streets never disappoints when it comes to dishing out action. Dominic Curit and Charlie Sanborn III occupied the front row of the 18-car field ready to go for the 30-lap feature. Curit paced the field in the lead for the first 16 laps until newcomer Richard “Bubba” Pelton drove up the outside lane and around Michael Harrison and Curit to grab the front spot.

There was plenty of action in the caution-free race, including rookie Brett Osmond’s charge from the back of the field from 15th to the top three by lap 25. Pelton, a multi-time winner at his home track of Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, went on to secure his first Wiscasset win in a dominating performance.

Polesitter Curit also turned in his best run of the season, as he took the runner-up honors. Osmond, wheeling the car his dad James drove to the division crown in 2021, backed up his win from two weeks ago with a strong third-place finish. The top 5 were rounded out by Harrison and points leader Matt Beers.

New Vinyard wheelman Shane Webber took the checkered flag for the 25-lap Sweatt’s Concrete Thunder 4 Mini feature. It was the first win of the season for last year’s division runner-up and rookie of the year. He was joined in victory lane by regular front-runners David Cook or Jay and Zach Audet of Norridgewock.

The Thunder 4 Mini’s boasted the largest field of cars on the night as 24 competitors took the green flag.

The individual racing results were:

Brackett’s Market 4-Cylinder Pro (25 laps) – 1, Daniel Harding, Fairfield; 2, Ben Burgess, Hartford; 3, Josh Hall, Mount Vernon; 4, Sylas Ripley, Warren; 5, Taylor Lane, Phillips; 6, Garritt McKee, Dixmont; 7, Andy Kaherl, Saco; 8, Callahan Cox, Harrison; and 9, Cody Kelley, Pittston.

Norm’s Used Cars Pro Stocks (40 laps) – 1, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 2, Kevin Douglass, Sidney; 3, Jamie Wright, Woolwich; 4, Steven Chicoine, Windsor; 5, Nick Reno, West Bath; 6, Don Colpritt Jr., Scarborough; 7, Nick Jenkins, Brownville; 8, Logan Melcher, Fayette; 9, Shane Lane, North Anson; 10, Dave Getchell, Cornville; 11, Scott Chubbuck, Bowdoin; 12, Nick Calvert, Steep Falls; 13, Jeremy Davis, Tamworth, N.H.; 14, Barry Poulin, Benton; 15, Gary Smith, Bangor; and 16, Joe Harriman, Montville.

Market 27 Super Streets (30 laps) – 1, Richard Pelton, Scarborough; 2, Dominic Curit, Saco; 3, Brett Osmond, Saco; 4, Michael Harrison, Durham; 5, Matt Beers, Farmingdale; 6, Bill Pinkham, Wiscasset; 7, Kenny Harrison, Durham; 8, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 9, P.J. Merrill, Canton; 10, Mike St. Pierre, Buxton; 11, Zack Bowie, Greene; 12, Charlie Sanborn III, Scarborough; 13, David Greenleaf, Westport; 14, Darick Barker, Durham; 15, Nick Morton, Woolwich; and 16, Glen Reynolds, Turner.

Sweatt’s Concrete Thunder 4 Mini (25 laps) – 1, Shane Webber, New Vinyard; 2, David Cook, Jay; 3, Zach Audet, Norridgewock; 4, Adam Audet, Norridgewock; 5, Derek Cook, Livermore Falls; 6, Ricky Austin, Norridgewock; 7, Dylan Cook, Turner; 8, Brandon Lizotte, Alfred; 9, Doug Degroat, Oxford; 10, Jaime Heath, Waterford; 11, Bruce Hall Jr., Chesterville; 12, John Anderson, Bristol; 13, Jeff Davis, Woolwich; 14, Gunner Josselyn, New Vinyard; 15, Steve Hall, Sebago; 16, Adreonna Dodge, Freeport; 17, James Grover, Newcastle; 18, Ches Williams, Hope; 19, Shawn McMorrow, Skowhegan; 20, Dustin Salley, South Paris; 21, Austin Dodge, Freeport; 22, Butch Keene, Turner; 23, Jeff Farrington, Alna; and 24, Joshua Hall, Sebago.

Ken Minott works for Wiscasset Speedway.

MaineStay Media/VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by email at sports@villagesoup.com.