With the political primaries in the rear view mirror, the Nov. 8 general ballot is set with the governor’s race topping the ballot.

There will also be a race to represent the region in the U.S. House of Representatives, and contests for Maine House and Senate seats. The county seats are uncontested.

Rockland will have its municipal election, but the deadline for filing for those seats is during the summer.


Incumbent Gov. Janet Mills, a Democrat from Farmington, is being challenged in her re-election bid for a second term by former Republican Gov. Paul LePage of Edgecomb. Mills is a former Attorney General who was elected in 2018. LePage served two consecutive terms, being elected in 2010 and 2014.

Independent Sam Hunkler of Beals is also on the ballot.

U.S. Representative

Incumbent Democratic U.S. Rep. Chellie Pingree of North Haven is being challenged in her re-election bid by Republican Edwin Thelander of Bristol.

Pingree has served seven consecutive two-year terms in Congress, first being elected in 2008 to represent southern Maine. Before, she served on the school board in North Haven and represented Knox County in the Maine Senate.

Thelander is a former Navy SEAL, started and operated his own excavation business, and has been a reserve deputy for the Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office.

Knox County sheriff

Knox County Sheriff Tom Carroll is unopposed for re-election for another four-year term. He is completing his first term. He is running as a Democrat.

He is a veteran law enforcement officer, having started in 1991 with the Rockland Police Department and later with the Bar Harbor Police Department, as well as the Maine Marine Patrol, before joining the Knox County Sheriff’s Office, rising to the rank of chief deputy before being elected as sheriff in 2018

District attorney

District Attorney Natasha Irving, a Democrat from Waldoboro, is unopposed for re-election as district attorney for prosecutorial District 6, which consists of Knox, Lincoln, Waldo, and Sagadahoc counties.

The term is for four years. She is in her first term. She had previously been a defense lawyer.

Knox County Probate Judge

Knox County Probate Judge Carol Emery is seeking re-election as Knox County Probate Judge. The Republican from St. George has held the seat since 1990.

The term is for four years.

Knox County Commissioner

Rockland Mayor Ed Glaser is unopposed for the District 1 Knox County Commissioner seat that represents Rockland, St. George, South Thomaston and Thomaston on the three-member commission.

Glaser won the Democratic primary last week through a write-in campaign. The term is for four years.

State Senate District 12

Former Democratic state Rep. Anne “Pinny” Beebe-Center of Rockland and Republican Scott Rocknak of Camden, who operates local boatyard and brokerage — Rocknak Yacht Sales — will be on the November ballot for the state Senate District 12 seat.

State Sen. David Miramant, D-Camden, was unable to seek re-election because of the state law which limits legislators to no more than four consecutive terms for the same seat.

District 12 includes all of Knox County, except the towns of Washington and Isle au Haut.

State Senate and House seats are for two years.

State Senate District 13

For state Senate District 13, Democrat Cameron Reny, an educator from Round Pond, and former Republican state Rep. Abden Simmons of Waldoboro will be on the November ballot.

First-term Democratic state Sen. Chloe Maxmin of Nobleboro did not seek re-election.

District 13 covers Lincoln County, as well as the Knox County town of Washington and the Kennebec town of Windsor.

House District 40

Incumbent Rep. Stanley Paige Zeigler, a Democrat from Montville, and Republican Tricia Harrington of Liberty won their primaries for Maine House District 40 and will be on the November ballot. Zeigler is in his third term in the House.

District 40 consists of Appleton, Islesboro, Liberty, Lincolnville, Montville, Morrill and Searsmont.

House District 41

Incumbent State Rep. Vicki Doudera, D-Camden, and Republican Susan Lee Butterworth of Camden won their primaries for Maine House District 41 which consists of Camden and Rockport.

Doudera is completing her second consecutive term in the House.

House District 42

Incumbent state Rep. Valli Geiger, D-Rockland, and Republican challenger Roger Tranfaglia of Rockland will be on the November ballot. Geiger is seeking her second term in the House. She previously served on the Rockland City Council including one year as mayor.

District 42 includes Rockland, North Haven, Criehaven, Matinicus Isle, Muscle Ridge Islands and the part of the municipality of Owls Head, generally north and northwest of a line described as follows: Beginning at the point where Dublin Road begins at the border of South Thomaston, then west along the centerline of Dublin Road until it intersects with Ash Point Drive, then northwest along the centerline of Ash Point Drive until it intersects with South Shore Drive, finally northeast along the centerline of South Shore Drive until the bridge over the estuary.

House District 43

Incumbent State Rep. Ann Matlack, D-St. George, and Republican challenger Heather Anne Sprague of Cushing will be on the November ballot to represent House District 43.

Matlack is in her second term in the House.

District 43 represents Cushing, Thomaston, South Thomaston, St George and the remainder of Owls Head.

House District 44

Incumbent state Rep. William Pluecker, an independent from Warren, will be challenged by Republican Crystal Lynn Robinson of Hope for Maine House District 44.

House District 44 includes Hope, Union and Warren.

House District 45

Republican Lynn Madison of Waldoboro, a lawyer and former assistant district attorney in Prosecutorial District 6; and Democrat Clinton Collamore Sr., a veteran town official from Waldoboro, will vie for the Maine House District 45 seat.

House District 45 includes Friendship, Washington, Waldoboro, Bremen, and Louds Island.

House District 15

Republican Jason Joyce of Swans Island and Democrat Holly Eaton of Deer Isle seek the Maine House District 15 seat.

House District 15 consists of the Knox County towns of Vinalhaven and Isle au Haut, and the Hancock County towns of Brooklin, Deer Isle, Frenchboro, Southwest Harbor, Stonington, Swans Island and Tremont.

Incumbent Rep. Genevieve McDonald, D-Stonington, did not seek re-election.

Rockland City Council.

There will be two seats on the November ballot for Rockland City Council. The seats are currently held by Mayor Glaser and Councilor Nate Davis. Glaser is not seeking re-election.

The seats are for three years. Nomination papers can be taken out beginning in July.

Three seats to represent Rockland on the Regional School Unit 13 Board are up for election. The seats are held by Board members Chelsea Avirett, David Martz, and Jason White.

Martz was appointed to the school board in July 2021 by the Rockland City Council and then was elected to a one-year seat.  Avirett was first appointed in November 2018 and was elected to a three-year term in 2019. White was appointed by the Council last year to fill the seat until November 2022.