CAMDEN — Megunticook Rowing hosted the annual Maine Youth Rowing Association State Championship Regatta, the Dirigo Sprints, for the first time in two years on Saturday, May 28 on Megunticook Lake.

The event had a strong turnout, which hosted Maine Coast Rowing Association (MCRA) and Waynflete of Portland. Teams showed tremendous effort and skills. Megunticook coaches, Tris Coburn and Will Schaetzke, with their crews, who came off a stellar performance in Malden, Mass. the previous week, looked forward to wrapping the season on a positive note.

The Dirigo Points trophy. Photo courtesy of Allison Langley

They did that.

The first event was the Women’s Varsity 2x, comprised of Lydia Myers and Leah Bloomquist, which took second  to MCRA with a time of 8:19.5.

Next was the Men’s Varsity 2x, with Cabot Adams and Devin Guptill. It took first in 6:28.2.

Later in the morning the Women’s Varsity “A” four (4+), rowed by Maggie Gill, Charlotte Taylor, Iselin Bratz, Sarah Van Lonkhuyzen and coxswain Sofia Howell, took third, as the group just missed second, in 6:46.4. Waynflete finished first, with MCRA second.

The Megunticook Rowing crew. Photo courtesy of Allison Langley

The Men’s Varsity “A” four (4+), rowed by Cabot Adams, Tanner Carson, Oliver Worner, Devin Guptill and coxswain, Aaron Dowd, finished first by more than 14 seconds over Waynflete, in 5:51.8.

As the sun began to shine through the clouds the Women’s Varsity “B” four (4+) took to the water, a group that included Flora Gurdon, Lydia Myers, Hettie Bickham, Piper Urey and coxswain, Maggie Blood. The group missed first by a hair, with only four-10ths of a second between it and the first-place Waynflete boat, in 7:03.9. It was, by far, the closest race of the season.

The Men’s Varsity “B” four (4+), rowed by Dominic Piconi, Noah Thackeray, George Bickham, Connor Howland and coxswain, Aaron Dowd, took an incredible first, as it finished two minutes ahead of Waynflete, in 5:55.8.

The Women’s Novice four (4+), comprised of Lily Martin, Ruth Weiss, Ava Tobias, Greer LaFiura and coxswain, Sofia Howell, took second in their event, in 6:40.

The Women’s Varsity 8, rowed by Maggie Gill, Charlotte Taylor, Iselin Bratz, Sarah Van Lonkhuyzen, Lydia Myers, Laura Riordan, Leah Bloomquist, Adella Brainerd and coxed by Sofia Howell, suffered equipment issues early in the race, but still just missed first, in 5:60.9, losing to MCRA by four seconds, which is a boat-length.

The Men’s Varsity 8, comprised of Dom Piconi, Devin Guptill, Cabot Adams, Tanner Carson, Oliver Worner, Connor Howland, George Bickham, Noah Thackeray and coxed by Aaron Dowd, came in first in 5:13.2. Overall, the boys crew had 10 separate events this season and were undefeated.

It was a memorable way to end the day of racing with a win for the home team.

Megunticook Rowing, as team, had a strong day of competition, as it won back the Dirigo Trophy from Waynflete, which had won the trophy in 2019, the last time this event was held.

Maine Coast Rowing and Waynflete also took home multiple first-place medals.

It proved a fantastic event for athletes and opportunity for Megunticook Rowing’s seniors to take to the water one final time before heading to college.

Megunticook Rowing plans to host the event again next spring.