ROCKPORT — Bay Chamber Concerts and Music School, 18 Central St., is accepting applications for the Envision Chamber Music Workshop, a week-long music camp for young musicians age 9 through 18. This year’s program runs Monday through Friday, Aug. 1 through 5, concluding with a free public afternoon performance. The daily schedule is 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. with time devoted to rehearsals and coachings, other musical workshops, and outdoor activities.

The faculty includes Sophie and Josie Davis, Julia Henderson, Nate Martin, Margarita Rovenskaya, Nora Willauer and Colin Wheatley. Many of these young professional musicians grew up studying music in Maine. They are excited to share their love of music and cultivate a creative and supportive environment for music-making and learning.

This five-day program is open to individual applicants playing violin, viola, cello, bass and piano, and pre-formed ensembles are encouraged to apply. Students will be placed in groups based on years of experience and age. Tuition is $400 and limited scholarship assistance is available. Applications are due April 22. For further information regarding the application process, visit or call 236-2823.

Bay Chamber Concerts and Music School is also accepting applications for the Young Stars of Maine Prize Program – due April 29. From these applications, students will be invited to live auditions May 22 at the Bay Chamber Music School. For more than 50 years, Bay Chamber has awarded prizes to Maine students who have made a significant commitment to their musical studies. Young Stars of Maine prizewinners have gone on to careers at the Metropolitan Opera as well as major symphonies and conservatories throughout the world. In addition to the prize monies, Young Stars are invited to perform for the public in a free concert scheduled for Sunday, June 5. Prize awards are $1,000, in nine categories, for individuals, chamber ensembles or jazz ensembles. Audition requirements, eligibility information and application instructions are available at

Envision participants in 2021. Photo by Josie Davis