WALDOBORO — There was nothing shocking about the team that won the Medomak Youth Basketball boys fifth- and sixth-grade championship on Saturday, Jan. 22. In fact, the experience was downright electrifying for the players and coaches.

In a game played at Medomak Middle School, Achorn’s Electric, one of five teams in the program’s older division, ended on top of the youth basketball mountain.

Achorn’s was seeded first and beat Simmons Lobster Wharf 45-44 in the championship game. Achorn also defeated First National Bank 37-33 earlier in the day.

Achorn’s includes Miles Luellen, Jacoby McDaniel, Sylas Ripley, Brysen Gilchrest, Laramie McGraw,  Tristen Blake, Tycen Maschino, Quinn Lawrence and Noah Lash. The coaches are John Luellen, Chris Achorn and Steve McDaniel.

Simmons Lobster includes Bradley Carlson, Trent Wallace, Oliver Simmons, Garrett Simmons, Kaysen Palino, Scott Robinson, Kyle Curtis, Riley Johnson and Colby Simmons. The coaches are Nathan Emerson, Keith Simmons Jr. and Ernie Wallace.

Achorn’s, which finished 8-1 overall, got a positive start to the first quarter of the championship game when Ripley’s halfcourt, three-point shot beat the buzzer to give his team a 14-9 edge at the break. The game remained close throughout until Achorn’s pulled out the victory in the end.

Achorn’s led 14-9, 28-13 and 36-25 at the quarter breaks before Simmons Lobster went on a 19-9 fourth-quarter run, but came up just short of completing the comeback.

Miles Luellen netted 14 points to pace the champs, while Jacoby McDaniel added nine; Lash, seven; Ripley, six; Gilchrest, five; and McGraw and Maschino, two.

Oliver Simmons led Simmons Lobster with 14 points, while Johnson tallied 10; Colby Simmons, eight; Wallace, six; Carlson, four; and Garrett Simmons, two.

Achorn’s finished 8-of-18 (44 percent) from the foul line, while Simmons Lobster was 2-of-17 (12 percent).

MaineStay Media/VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by email at sports@villagesoup.com. 

filed under: