Most local legislators said they plan to seek re-election in 2022.

State Senate seats

State Sen. David Miramant, D-Camden, is unable to seek re-election because of the state law that limits legislators to no more than four consecutive terms for the same seat. Former Democratic state Rep. Anne “Pinny” Beebe-Center of Rockland has registered to seek the Senate District 12 seat being vacated by Miramant.

District 12 includes all of Knox County except the towns of Washington and Isle au Haut.

No other candidates have as of yet registered to run for the seat.

For state Senate District 13, former Republican state Rep. Abden Simmons of Waldoboro has registered to run for the seat. Simmons served one term in the Maine House before being defeated in 2018 by independent Jeffrey Evangelos.

Simmons has been a shellfish harvester for three decades and has operated A&A Shellfish, a buying station for clams, for 25 years. He is also an elver fisherman, and spent more than 20 years inshore fishing and working as a sternman.

A graduate of Medomak Valley High School, Simmons is a member of the Waldoboro Selectboard and has served as chair of the Selectboard for the past two years. For six years, he served on the town’s Planning Board.

District 13 covers Lincoln County, the Knox County town of Washington and the Kennebec town of Windsor.

The seat is held by Democratic state Sen. Chloe Maxmin of Nobleboro. Maxmin has not yet registered for re-election. She could not be immediately reached on her re-election plans. Maxmin is in her first term in the Senate.

District Attorney

District Attorney Natasha Irving, a Democrat from Waldoboro, has registered to seek re-election as district attorney prosecutorial district 6, which consists of Knox, Lincoln, Waldo, and Sagadahoc counties. The term is for four years.

She is in her first term.

No one else has registered for the seat.

Knox County Sheriff

Knox County Sheriff Tim Carroll said he will be seeking re-election. Sheriff Carroll, a Democrat, was first elected in 2018, to a four-year term.

He has been with the Sheriff’s Office since 2009. He previously worked for the Rockland Police Department, Bar Harbor Police Department, and the Maine Marine Patrol.

No other candidates have registered to run for the sheriff seat.

State Representatives

State Rep. Valli Geiger, D-Rockland, said she would seek re-election for the House District 42. She is in her first term in office.

Geiger said she wants to continue to pursue legislation to increase affordable housing, as well as changes to the educational funding formula. She said it takes time to convince a majority of legislators to support change.

District 42 includes Rockland, North Haven, Criehaven, Matinicus Isle, Muscle Ridge Islands and the part of the municipality of Owls Head, generally north and northwest of a line described as follows: Beginning at the point where Dublin Road begins at the border of South Thomaston, then west along the centerline of Dublin Road until it intersects with Ash Point Drive, then northwest along the centerline of Ash Point Drive until it intersects with South Shore Drive, finally northeast along the centerline of South Shore Drive until the bridge over the estuary.

No other candidates have filed for the seat.

State Rep. Vicki Doudera, D-Camden, said she has decided to run for a third term in the Maine House to represent District 41, which consists of Camden and Rockport.

“Largely because my constituents have asked me to seek re-election,” Doudera said. “I’m energized with the progress we made in the legislature this past session, and proud of the bills I helped pass, most of which came directly from constituent ideas. I will build upon our progress, focusing on climate change, plastic and chemical pollution, affordable housing, gun safety, and solutions that help children, everyday Mainers and small Maine businesses. I feel fortunate to represent such a terrific part of our state and look forward to rolling up my sleeves for another term.”

No other candidate has registered for the seat.

State Rep. Ann Matlack, D-St. George, said she would seek re-election to represent House District 43. Matlack is in her second term in the House.

“It has been my honor to represent the community members in my district,” Matlack said. “I look forward to continuing to represent the new district (House District 43) that was recently created for Cushing, Thomaston, South Thomaston, St George and now a small but important part of Owls Head.”

No other candidate has registered to run for the seat.

Rep. Jeffrey Evangelos, an independent of Friendship, announced Monday, Dec. 6, he would not seek re-election.

House District 45 includes Friendship, Washington, Waldoboro, Bremen, and Louds Island.

No one has registered for the seat.

Rep. William Pluecker, an independent from Warren, has not yet responded on whether he plans to seek re-election.

House District 44 includes Hope, Union and Warren.

No one has filed for the seat.

Rep. Genevieve McDonald, D-Stonington, said she will seek re-election in House District 15. She is in her second term in the House. She said it has been a great honor to represent the towns and she looks forward to continue to represent them.

House District 15 consists of the Knox County towns of Vinalhaven and Isle au Haut, and the Hancock County towns of Brooklin, Deer Isle, Frenchboro, Southwest Harbor, Stonington, Swans Island and Tremont.

The deadline for party candidates to file nomination papers with the Maine Secretary of State to get on the June 14, 2o22, primary ballot is March 15. Unenrolled candidates, who were unenrolled prior to March 15, have until June 1 to file their nomination papers.

The party candidates and any unenrolled candidates will square off at the general election on Nov. 8.