ROCKLAND — The Worthington Scholarship Foundation awarded 215 college scholarships this year totaling $3.4 million to students throughout the Midcoast and Down East.

The Worthington Scholarship Foundation, based in Rockland, provides one of the largest scholarships in the state, totaling up to $16,500 for four-year students and $1,500 per semester for community college students. Aside from funding, the foundation also provides ongoing staff support to their student scholars to ensure they succeed.

“Our scholars have overcome various personal challenges in their lives to recognize the importance of obtaining a quality education for their future,” says Justin Chenette, the foundation’s program director. “They are staying in Maine due to our scholarship and we are excited to support the next generation achieve a solid foundation of success.”

Over 35% of their new, incoming scholars are first generation college students and all of their scholarships are awarded based on financial need and GPA.

Scholars come from 23 high schools throughout Knox, Waldo, Lincoln, Hancock, and Washington counties and attend college at the University of Maine or Maine community college systems, Maine Maritime Academy, Husson University, Thomas, Bates, Colby or Bowdoin College.

Congratulations to the following students:

Belfast Area High School

Students include Joseph Schenk, Zachary Bryant, Lindsey Goughnour, Kelsey Talgo, Jason Bartlett, Hezekiah Gabriel Agbuya, Brooklynn Boyle, Alice Dyer, Paige Ford, Steven Friel, Eamon Goscinski, Madisyn Morse, Hope Richards, Olivia Smith, Hailey Hall, Tisha Stoltz, Daisy Bradney, Derrick Roberts and Hailee Lindelof.

Bucksport High School

Students include Madison Carter, Kaylee Gray, Jordan Malenfant, Sara Bos, Alexzander Coffin, Ava Knowles, Ethan Lozier, Julian McDermott, Madison Frazier and Brianna Dow.

Camden Hills Regional High School

Students include Bryler Fisher, Elias Porter, Kendra Merrill, Obediah Miller, Owen Pendleton, Andi Hammond, Aiden Aviles, Kevin Bergelin, Grace Cody, Alexa Libby, Seanna Montgomery, Owen Power, Kyla Taylor, Liliana Gaudette and Hanna Hallundbaek.

Medomak Valley High School

Students include Brandon Starr, Jayla Robinson, Chloe Harvey, Jacob Lawrence, Isaac McCollett, Eliza Nelson, Owen Underhill, Stephanie Morse, Kalina Chazin-Knox, Madison Clarke, Jeffery Parent, Parker Morrison, Noah Crosby and Gavin Readinger.

Mount View High School

Students include Tamika Henry, Joseph Grassi, Cooper Grierson, Marc Pomeroy, Taylor Turner, Shawn Von Oesen, Emma Fonger, Morgan Fonger, Kevin Kinney, Gunnar Martin, Zoe Mayhew, Richard Nelson, Abigail Spaulding, Lydia Bryant, Jennifer Littlefield, Jacie Nickerson, Kayden Doughty and Lacey Haight.

Oceanside High School

Students include Corbin Farnham, Nina Waldron, Joshua Willey, Andrew Secord, Morgan Mitchell, Cameron Kingsbury, Cyrus Alley, Logan Jones, Landdon Willis, Grace Young, Olivia Dougherty, Anna Grierson, Autumn Harvey, Lily Judecki, Jordan Lawrence, Elliot Lucier, Finnegan Lynch, Kaylee Soto, Harriet Yankura, Mariah St. Clair, Jessica Watkinson, Jordan Beal and Andry Sermeño.

Searsport District Middle/High School

Students include Jade McAvoy, Samantha Perkins and Makenzie Alley.

Next year, the foundation will expand to six additional counties of Oxford, Somerset, Piscataquis, Penobscot, Franklin and Sagadahoc.

For the full list of new scholars visit