The proposed reapportionment of political seats, due to the results of the 2020 U.S. Census, show changes in the boundaries of the Knox County Commissioner districts.

The proposed new state Senate district will depend on whether the Democratic or Republican proposal is adopted.

Proposed new maps for Maine House seats have yet to be published. Proposed new maps for county commissioner districts across Maine as well as state Senate districts were posted Thursday, Sept. 16 on the Maine Reapportionment Commission website.

The new districts will be in place for the 2022 elections. The reapportionment will go before the full Legislature, which must approve it by a two-thirds majority for it to take effect.

In Knox County, the District 1 county commissioner seat held currently by Dorothy Meriwether will lose Owls Head but add St. George to its coverage area. The district will represent Rockland, St. George, South Thomaston and Thomaston.

District 2, the seat currently held by Richard Parent Jr., will lose St. George but add Appleton. The district will encompass Appleton, Cushing, Friendship, Union, Warren and Washington.

District 3, the seat currently held by Sharyn Pohlman, loses Appleton but adds Owls Head. The district will encompass Camden, Hope, Isle au Haut, Matinicus, North Haven, Owls Head, Rockport, Vinalhaven and the unorganized townships of Criehaven and Muscle Ridge Islands.

The two political parties have slightly different proposals for the local state Senate district. The Democratic proposal is for the seat to remain nearly the same, consisting all of Knox County except the town of Washington and Isle au Haut. Isle au Haut would be moved to a Senate District largely consisting of Hancock County towns. The Republican proposal would consist of all of Knox County except Vinalhaven and North Haven and Isle au Haut. The three islands would shift to a district that consists of mainly Hancock County towns and the Knox County town of Washington would move from its current mainly Lincoln County district to the Knox County district.

House maps are expected to be released before the Apportionment Commission next meets Sept. 20.