WISCASSET — There is no better way for a track to celebrate its birthday than with racing. And that is just what Wiscasset Speedway did on Saturday, July 24.

From the day local businessman Wilford Cronk opened the gates to his new race track on July 27, 1969, and ever since, Wiscasset Speedway has carried the title as “Maine’s Fastest Track.” Fast-forward to Saturday night where the current ownership celebrated the track’s 52nd birthday with a night of racing action, past champions, hall-of-fame drivers, and fireworks.

Near perfect weather greeted a large contingent of fans ready for the show. Along with races in five divisions, fans also were treated to a special recognition ceremony during intermission that introduced a slew of past track champions.

The highlight of the special intermission was the introduction of the track’s hall-of-fame members, including the Class of 2021.

The eight new inductees included early champions Steve Langeliere, Dave Kimball and Merle Grover; more recent stars Duane Love, Phil Main and Allan Moeller Sr; Maine Motorsports Hall-of-Famer Bob Hallee; and Bill Lathrop, the track’s original pit steward.

The inductees were selected for their significant and lasting impact on the history and success of Wiscasset Speedway. The show ended with a fireworks display to celebrate the track’s special day.

As usual, the night included plenty of success for Knox, Waldo and Lincoln county drivers.

The Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model Sportsman had the spotlight race and again showed why it is one of the top weekly divisions in the Northeast. Frank Moulton of Clinton got out to an early lead on the 21-car field and outran Josh St. Clair of Liberty to the checkers for his first career win at Wiscasset.

The race went caution-free and featured side-by-side battles all-around the 3/8-mile track. With the absence of points leader Chris Thorne, St. Clair retook the top spot in the class with his runner-up finish. Former champ Will Collins raced to the final podium spot in third. Brandon Fowler and Ryan Ripley filled out the top-five finishers.

In other action, Scott Trask wired the 25-lap feature for the Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Minis. The division’s top two drivers chased him across the line with Zach Audet second and Jimmy Childs third. It was Trask’s first win since 2019.

In the 25-lap feature for the Portland Glass Strictly Streets, Mac Hannan Jr. of Washington raced to his first win in five years. There was a shake-up in the remaining official finish order following post-race tech inspection. When the dust settled the second-place trophy went to former champ Kurt Hewins and third-place honors went to Keith Drost.

Bruce Hall Jr. of Chesterville won the 15-lap Ideal Roadrunner feature and Adam Chadbourne of Woolwich won the 30-lap feature for the 88.5FM Modifieds.

Results from July 24 racing were:

Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model Sportsman (50 laps) — 1, Frank Moulton, Clinton; 2, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 3, Will Collins, Waldoboro; 4, Brandon Fowler, Rome; 5, Ryan Ripley, Thomaston; 6, Matt Bourgoine, Stetson; 7, Tiger Colby, Wiscasset; 8, Brent Roy, Vassalboro; 9, Alex Waltz, Walpole; 10, Mark Lucas, Harpswell; 11, Brandon Bailey, Wiscasset; 12, Chris Burgess, Hartford; 13, Scott Hall, Jay; 14, James Barker, Turner; 15, Connor Wenners, Edgecomb; 16, Ray Dinsmore, Limerick; 17, Tyler Bailey, Wiscasset; 18, Garrett Leiter, Winslow; 19, D.C. Alexander, Carmel; 20, Doug Phillips, Phillips; and 21, Ben Erskine, Skowhegan.

Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Mini (25 laps) — 1, Scott Trask, Richmond; 2, Zach Audet, Norridgewock; 3, Jimmy Childs, Leeds; 4, Jason Kimball, Pittston; 5, Mike Delano, Woowich; 6, Shane Smith, Augusta; 7, Ryan Varney, Oxford; 8, Wes Turner, Freedom; 9, Dominic Smith, Augusta; 10, James Grover Jr., Waldoboro; 11, Chris Watkins, Oakland; and 12, Ryan Kenniston, Smithfield.

Portland Glass Strictly Streets (25 laps) — 1, Mac Hannan Jr., Washington; 2, Kurt Hewins, Turner; 3, Keith Drost, Etna; 4, Chad Wills, Oxford; 5, Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 6, Caleb Emerson-Mains, Richmond; 7, Mike Haynes, Livermore Falls; 8, Scott Eck, Lisbon; 9, Ryan Essancy, Appleton; 10, Brady Romano, Livermore Falls; 11, Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 12, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 13, Brett Osmond, Wiscasset; 14, Ethan Dinsmore, Hope; and 15, Bernie Dinsmore, Hope.

Ideal Roadrunners (15 laps) — 1, Bruce Hall Jr., Chesterville; 2, Seth Woodard, Plymouth; 3, Kyle Enman, Durham; 4, Mark Sawyer, no town given; 5, Ben Benson, no town given; 6, Jason Meservey, Warren; 7, Merrill Chapman, Bristol; 8, Darius Miranda, Levant; 9, Nicole Brown, Hope; 10, Richard Austin, Norridgewock; 11, Steve Sidelinger, Bristol; 12, Skip Meservey, Warren; 13, Crystal Bourassa, Bristol; 14, Koray Enman-Curtis, Lisbon Falls; 15, Sharon Whitelaw, Readfield; and 16, David Whitelaw, Readfield.

88.5FM Modifieds (30 laps) — 1, Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich; 2, Brian Treadwell, Hancock; 3, Faith Cleaves, Pownal; and 4, Tyler Robbins, Montville.

Ken Minott of Wiscasset Speedway contributed to this story.