Michelle Hannan is the new Chair of the Select Board in Rockport. Mark Kelley has been named Vice Chair.

The board held its organizational meeting June 9, a day after the annual town election.

Michelle Hannan is Chair of the Rockport Select Board.

The voters elected Eric Boucher and John Strand as new members to serve on the Select Board. They will replace former Chair Debra Hall and board member Jeffrey Hamilton who decided not to seek reelection this year.

Hannan has been a member of the Select Board since being elected in August 2020. She has previously served with Keep Rockport Beautiful, which worked to rid the town of litter, and she has been a longtime volunteer and organizer for the Maine Lobster Festival. She also served on the 63 Washington St. board.

“I am very excited to lead the Board and appreciate their confidence in my abilities,” Hannan said June 11. “While I have only been on the board for one year,  I have lived in Rockport for my entire life. I will be working closely with our interim Town Manager over the next 30 days and with our new Town Manager (Jon Duke) starting in July to make sure we are in lock step on the priorities of the town and what we can do to continue to make this a great place to live for all of our residents.

“We have a great Select Board, with two new members that have just joined us. I am looking forward to working with this group and the many volunteers we have on our various committees to help continue to drive positive change in Rockport.”

Kelley was the longtime Police Chief in Rockport before retiring. He has also served on the Budget Committee. He was elected to the Select Board in 2017.

Kelley nominated Hannan and it was a unanimous vote.