Sen. Chloe Maxmin, D-Nobleboro, was sworn into the Maine Senate. Sen. Maxmin was elected to her first term in the Senate in November.

Hon. Andrew M. Mead, Acting Chief Justice of the Maine Supreme Court, administered the oath of office to Sen. Maxmin and 31 of her Senate colleagues, all of whom have been elected to serve two-year terms.

She represents the people of Senate District 13, which includes Alna, Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Bremen, Bristol, Damariscotta, Edgecomb, Hibberts Gore, Jefferson, Louds Island, Monhegan Island Plantation, Newcastle, Nobleboro, Somerville, South Bristol, Southport, Waldoboro, Washington, Westport Island, Whitefield, Windsor and Wiscasset.

“Being chosen by the people to represent them in Augusta is the honor of my life,” said Sen. Maxmin.

“There is a lot of hard work ahead to ensure that the people feel truly represented and served by their government, especially during this time of great need. I’m committed to doing this work and excited to get started.”

Sen. Maxmin was raised on her family farm in Nobleboro and returned to Maine after graduating from Harvard College. Sen. Maxmin has worked as a community organizer and activist for 15 years on numerous issues and campaigns, with a focus on protecting Maine’s environment.

As a member of the House of Representatives, Sen. Maxmin worked with community members to sponsor legislation that made a real difference in the lives of Mainers and garnered bipartisan support. When the pandemic hit, Sen. Maxmin organized more than 200 volunteers to contact over 13,500 elderly residents in her district to make sure they had the food and resources they needed.

Due to the pandemic, the swearing-in ceremony was held at the Augusta Civic Center to allow for greater physical distancing. A livestream of the event is available to the general public, and can be viewed at

Of the 34 members of the Maine Senate, there are 21 Democrats and 13 Republicans. Thirteen are women and 21 are men. There are 10 new members: Five recently served in the House of Representatives and the other five have no previous legislative experience. Twenty-four members are incumbents.

The Legislature will reconvene at the start of the new year. Learn more about Sen. Maxmin at