Medomak Valley High School senior Madelyn N. "Maddie" White, daughter of Scott and Carrie White of Waldoboro, has been selected to receive the 2019 Principal's Award for the school, presented by Principal Linda Pease. The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals' Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior's academic achievement and citizenship.

White has achieved academic excellence and models outstanding school citizenship and overall leadership, according to a March 1 press release from the school. Fifth in her class, she is an honors student who has successfully pursued academic challenges throughout her high school career. In addition to her attention to her coursework, she has worked for the Waldoboro Summer Recreation Program for four years: she appreciates and values young people and the ability to make a positive difference in their lives, the release states.

She has been president of her class the last three years and demonstrates humility, perseverance and kindness in her daily interactions. She is a versatile leader who participates in theater, music, community service and athletic endeavors, always performing to the absolute best of her ability and putting forth a laudable effort. She does all of this with a friendly and outgoing disposition and a positive attitude, according to the release.

White and Pease and other award winners and their principals will attend an Honors Luncheon April 6 in Brewer.

The Honors Luncheon recognizes award recipeints with the presentation of an individual plaque and the awarding of five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler. McGowan and Tyler were former Maine principals and executive directors of the association. An additional five $1,000 scholarships will be presented through the efforts of the MPA Scholarship Golf Tournament.

The Principal's Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association which represents Maine's school administrators.