The Gulf of Maine Council is accepting nominations for their 2019 awards to recognize volunteers, professionals, businesses, and organizations for outstanding efforts to promote a healthy Gulf of Maine ecosystem.

The council is seeking award nominees from Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Maine, New Hampshir, and Massachusetts. Awards will be presented during a special ceremony  July 10 in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

GOMC 2019 Awards

Visionary Awards

Up to two individuals, businesses, or organizations from each province and state bordering the Gulf of Maine will be selected to receive Visionary Awards. These awards recognize innovation, creativity, and commitment to protecting the marine environment. Paid professionals or volunteers are eligible.

Longard Volunteer Award

The Council presents this annual award to one outstanding volunteer who has made significant contributions to conserving or managing resources within the Gulf of Maine. Past recipients have been involved in stewardship projects, educational programs, volunteer monitoring, and habitat restoration.

Susan Snow-Cotter Leadership Award

This award is bestowed in memory of Susan Snow-Cotter, former director of the Massachusetts Office of Coastal Management and long-time friend of the Council. One individual will be selected to receive this special award for coastal management professionals who exhibit outstanding leadership or exceptional mentoring in the Gulf of Maine watershed.

Industry Award

The Gulf of Maine Industry Award recognizes an individual, company, or organization for innovation and leadership in efforts to improve the well-being of the Gulf of Maine ecosystem and the communities that call it home. Nominations are sought from the following sectors: tourism, commercial and recreational fisheries, aquaculture, renewable energy generation, and water transportation.

Sustainable Community Award

The council will recognize a community, or group within a community for exemplary work in achieving sustainability outcomes related to the environment and economy, that are in line with the objectives of the council's Action Plan.

Nominations will be accepted through April 5. For more information, and to access nomination forms, visit and click on Awards.