There is a reason the Regional School Unit 40 cheering program — from the high school to the middle school to the youth programs — are considered among the best in the state. Namely, consistently excellent coaching and generations of determined, dedicated and talented young athletes.

Those traits again were on display for the youngsters from Medomak Middle School who, year after year, turn in impressive competition performances, and did so again on Friday, Feb. 9 as the Riverhawks earned their eighth straight Busline League championship in competition at MMS.

Click for photos from this event.

Watch video below.

The event was postponed from Wednesday, Feb. 7 due to inclement weather.

Medomak competed with Jefferson Village School, Great Salt Bay School, Bristol Consolidated School and Boothbay Region Elementary School in an all-Lincoln County affair.

The final team scores were: Medomak, 71.3 and 72.2 for 71.25 average; Jefferson, 53.7 and 58.4 for 56.08; Boothbay, 49 and 52.4 for 50.7; Bristol, 48.8 and 47.4 for 48.1; and GSB, 44.4 and 47.6 for 46.

Boothbay also was the recipient of the event’s spirit award.

Each team performed its routine in the first round, then there was a short intermission, before all five middle school squads performed the same routines once more before a packed gymnasium and a panel of judges.

The scores of the routines were averaged together for the combined final score.

Jefferson, GSB and Bristol are three of the elementary schools that comprise the Lincoln Academy school district.

Team members for Medomak included Alexandria Gallagher, Katrina McIntosh, Lachey Sawyer, Elizabeth Steele, Lyra Stevens, Paige Sykes, Aaliyah Thompson, Elizabeth Bowman, Kelsee Brown, Caitlyn Christensen, Gregory Cifaldo, Autumn Harvey, Bella Herring, Emily Mahoney, Abigail Morin, Laciy Peavey, Taylor Podrasky, Kassi Soule, Elizabeth Swan, Anna Wagner, Shyla Waltz and Hannah Woodcock. The team is coached by Leanne Benner.

Team members for Boothbay included Teal Beavis, Meghan Leeman, Hannah Roberts, Della Hahn, Katerina Nein and Madelyn Teele. The team is coached by Lisa Tilton.

Team members for Bristol included Hanna Cox, Elizabeth Bradstreet, Paysen Day, Jackie Easter, Megan Foster, Destiny Rock, Hailey Sawyer, Kassidy Dighton, Taylor Fink, Caeli Fletcher and Aubrianna Nash. The team is coached by Jessica Chadwick.

Team members for Jefferson included Emily Sprague, Abby Kopp, Alexis Moon, Allison St. Cyr, Andrea Benner, Cadence Rau, Abby St. Cyr, Ava White, Chloe Achorn and Halie Winchenbach. The team is coached by Amy Rau.

Team members for Great Salt Bay included Makayla Farrell, Shi'an Starks, Chloe Faryna, Ruby Gagnon, Michaela LaCrosse, True Leadbetter, Sopna Atkinson, Annabelle Benner, Gracie Brodeur, Alana Brown, Tianna Leeman, Alexis Manowksi, Julia Palmer and Alice Skiff. The team is coached by Brie McCarthy.