As it turns out, the freight train that is the Medomak Middle School boys eighth-grade basketball team could not be stopped or derailed on its quest to roll down the track to an unbeaten season and the Busline League championship.

The Riverhawks of Waldoboro proved that in an impressive way on Saturday morning, Jan. 27 at Camden-Rockport Middle School as they captured the title and played the role of an offensive juggernaut.

The No. 1 Riverhawks (12-0) beat No. 2 Camden-Rockport (7-5) 75-38 in an impressive and dominating overall performance.

Click for photos from the championship game.

Watch video below from the championship game.

Click for middle school boys basketball photos from this season.

Medomak made an early statement as the juggernaut from Waldoboro outscored the Schooners 32-6 in the first eight minutes. The Riverhawks led 53-22 at halftime and 69-32 after three quarters. It was the most points scored by Medomak all season (its previous high was 60 for four quarters).

Team members for Medomak, coached by Micah Williamson, include Noah Ludwig, Connor Daigle, Isaak Hynd, Po Pfirrmann, Colby Brown, Gavin Anderson, Trevor Brown, Jordan Luce, Addison Mellor, Tyler Leonard, Aiden Sawyer, Garret Hutchins, Ryan Jarvis, Jake Bickmore and Dominic Athear.

Team members for Camden-Rockport, coached by Cameron Gartley and assisted by Thomas Kennedy, include Caleb Sabanty, Willy Doehla, Julian Mayhorn, Ezra LeMole, Aiden O’Connell, Adrian Pierce, Addison Castellano, Ryan Clifford and Garrett Neal.

Keying the Riverhawks was the two-headed basketball monster of Trevor Brown (30 points) and Bickmore (20 points) as the teammates combined for 50 points. Brown scored all but two of his points in the first three quarters and Bickmore all of his points in the first three stanzas and 18 in the first half.

The Riverhawks also got sweet scoring from Hynd with 14 points, while Ludwig added four; Daigle, three; and Hutchins and Jarvis, two. The team netted 6-of-8 free throws (75 percent).

For CRMS, Clifford poured in 18 points and was consistent offensively throughout the game, while Doehla added nine; O'Connell and Mayhorn, four; Sabanty, two; and Pierce, one. The Schooners made 5-of-11 foul shots (45 percent).

Medomak scored on its first three possessions — two hoops from Trevor Brown and another from Bickmore — to take an early 6-0 lead.

Clifford converted a basket for the Schooners, but the Riverhawks continued to pour in points after Trevor Brown hit back-to-back hoops when he rattled in a jumper and converted a fadeaway in the paint — followed by an offensive putback and a 3-pointer by Bickmore — to put Medomak up 15-2, which prompted a Camden-Rockport timeout.

The Riverhawks only continued their offensive explosion over the final three stanzas on their way to a convincing title victory.

The regular-season standings included: Medomak 10-0, Camden-Rockport 6-4, Oceanside of Thomaston/Rockland 5-5, Great Salt Bay of Damariscotta 5-5, Troy Howard of Belfast 4-6 and Boothbay 0-10. Medomak and Camden-Rockport received first-round playoff byes.

The previous playoff results included: No. 3 Oceanside beat No. 6 Boothbay 42-34, No. 5 Troy Howard beat No. 4 Great Salt Bay 42-35, No. 2 Camden-Rockport beat No. 3 Oceanside 37-33 and No. 1 Medomak beat No. 5 Troy Howard 52-24.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.