The Big Eleven Conference revealed its all-conference and all-academic selections at its end-of-year banquet on Sunday, Dec. 3 at Jeff’s Catering, an event that saw gridiron talents from Oceanside of Rockland/Thomaston, Belfast and Medomak Valley of Waldoboro earn recognition for their play on the field.

Highlighting the list of area players was Oceanside’s Mike Norton Jr., who made first-team all-conference at running back and linebacker. Norton also was in the running to win Big Eleven player of the year, but narrowly lost to Mount Desert Island’s Colby Lee.

Coach-of-the-year honors went to Mark Shields of MDI, while the assistant coach-of-the-year award went to Woody Moore of Maine Central Institute of Pittsfield.

Moore is the former head football coach of Rockland District High School and later Oceanside High School. He has been on the staff for the Huskies the past few seasons for a squad that won the state Class D championship in 2016 and the state Class C title in 2017.

The following is a breakdown of Midcoast players named to the first- or second-team offense or defense:

First-team offense — Norton, Oceanside (running back).

Second-team offense — Kirt Ilvonen, Oceanside (tackle); Titus Kaewthong, Oceanside (place kicker) and Ben Ripley, Oceanside (utility).

First-team defense — Norton, Oceanside (linebacker).

Second-team defense — Konnor Harford, Belfast (tackle); Erik Benner, Medomak Valley (tackle); Garrett Bowers, Medomak Valley (linebacker); Alex McLaughlin, Oceanside (linebacker); Josh Goldrup, Medomak Valley (defensive back); and Titus Kaewthong, Oceanside (defensive back and punter).

Honorable mention (offense and defense) — Jacob Waterman and Grey Dinsmore, Belfast; Tyler Simmons and Eli Miller, Medomak Valley; and Chris Carroll and Jack Freeman, Oceanside.

All-academic — Hosler Whitney, Belfast; and Freeman, Kaewthong, Hunter Fowles, Norton and Oliver Vanorse-Jones.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.