Councilor Valli Geiger is expected to be elected Rockland's next mayor.

The Courier-Gazette contacted city councilors Friday and asked whether they would seek the post and, if not, who would they support.

Geiger said she would seek the mayor's post.

Councilor Adam Ackor said he had considered seeking the post because it was his last year of his first term on the council. He said, however, assessing the current makeup of the council and the past controversy over the city manager search process he did not believe he would have enough support.

"Councilor Geiger has served Rockland as a city councilor for three years. I believe she is seeking the mayor's post. In a sincere effort to put past differences aside and enter a new council term with an eye toward addressing the challenges our community faces. I will support Councilor Geiger for the mayorship," Ackor said.

Councilor Ed Glaser said he would support the councilor with the most seniority.

"In keeping with tradition, I think the position of Mayor should go to the most senior council member. I may be the oldest person on the council, but I'm only entering my second year, so I have no claim to the position," Glaser said.

Geiger has the most experience with three years.

Councilor-Elect Lisa Westkaemper said she would not seek the post and that her vote would be known after it is cast on Monday night.

Councilor Amelia Magjik did not immediately respond to the questions.

The council meets at 7:30 p.m. Monday for the annual re-organizational meeting. Westkaempter and Geiger will be sworn into office as both won in the Nov. 7 election.

Geiger is completing her first three-year term on the City Council. The Broadway resident is a nurse. During her first term on the council, she called for steps to deal with the affordable housing shortage in the community.

Geiger served as chairman of the Rockland Comprehensive Planning Commission before being elected to the council.

The mayor moderates meetings, nominates members to municipal boards and oversees ceremonial functions.

Councilors are paid $800 per year and the mayor receives an additional $200 per year.