Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance has announces the finalists for the 2017 Maine Literary Awards. The awards — which honor books published during 2016, as well as adult and youth manuscripts in drama, fiction, nonfiction and poetry — brought in a near record-breaking number of submissions.

This year, 150 books were entered across the award’s categories; more than 80 manuscripts were submitted into the award’s Short Works Competition; and nearly 40 Maine students submitted work in the same categories in the award’s Youth Competition.

Among the Midcoast finalists are Glen Libby (and photographer Antonia Small), whose “Caught” is up for the John N. Cole Award for Maine-themed Nonfiction; local publishers Down East Books and Tilbury House Publishers, whose “Stop Here: This is the Place” by Susan Conley and Winky Lewis; and “The Life in Your Garden” by Reeser Manley and Marjorie Peronto, respectively, are up for the Excellence in Publishing award; Claire Millikin, whose “Television” is up for the Book Award for Poetry; Ann Hassett, whose “Goodnight, Bob” is up for the Children’s Book Award; and Angela Waldron, a finalist in the Short Works Competition, Nonfiction competition.

The winners of the 2017 Maine Literary Awards will be revealed live during a ceremony Thursday, June 1, at SPACE Gallery, 538 Congress St. Doors open at 6 p.m. and the ceremony begins at 7 p.m. Longfellow Books will be on hand at the ceremony to sell books by the finalists, and there will be a cash bar. The event is free to MWPA members, with a suggested $5 donation for nonmembers.

To see the complete lists of finalists, visit

Courier Publications’ A&E Editor Dagney C. Ernest can be reached at (207) 594-4401, ext. 115; or