On Saturday, April 15, the downtown Farnsworth Art Museum will open the second set of five exhibitions marking the centennial of Andrew Wyeth’s birth, as well as the doors of the seasonal Wyeth Center on Union Street.

“Andrew Wyeth: Maine Watercolors, 1938-2008” is a major retrospective exhibition featuring many of Wyeth’s most important Maine watercolors; and “The Olson House: Photographers’ Muse” features photographs of the house made famous by Wyeth’s iconic painting “Christina’s World.” Both exhibitions will be on display at the museum’s Wyeth Center, with the photography show on view through Oct. 29 and the watercolor exhibition through the end of the year.

“Andrew Wyeth: Maine Watercolors, 1938 – 2008” features many of the painter’s most important watercolors of Maine spanning his entire career including a study for his final work, “Goodbye my Love.” Co-curated by Farnsworth Chief Curator Michael K. Komanecky and renowned American art scholar Henry Adams, many of the works on display are from private collections and are rarely seen by the public.

“This is truly a survey exhibition,” said Farnsworth Director Christopher J. Brownawell. “With the scope of these works spanning his entire career, the public will have a unique opportunity to examine how Andy’s work grew through the decades; to compare these works to many of the original drawings on display in the main museum’s drawing show; and to completely immerse themselves in the works of this great American master.”

The Olson House in Cushing was one of Wyeth’s major inspirations. The site of his most iconic work, he portrayed the house and its surroundings in some 300 works over a period of three decades. Mostly through its connection to the artist, it became the subject for many important photographers’ works through the years.

The exhibition “The Olson House: Photographers’ Muse” will include the work of Paul Caponigro, Linda Connor, Tillman Crane, James Moore, Bradley Prescott, Peter Ralson, Kosti Ruohomaa, George Tice, Brian Vanden Brink and Ewa Zebrowski. The exhibition will be explored during an afternoon artists’ talk on the opening day of the exhibition (see story linked below).

Lead Exhibition Sponsors for “Andrew Wyeth at 100” are Camden National Bank, Mrs. F. Eugene Dixon, Kathy and Paul Anderson, and Down East magazine. Other sponsors include Mr. Richard Gilder and Ms. Lois Chiles, Anne and John Surovek, Mr. Katsushige Susaki, Mr. and Mrs. George Twigg III, Thomaston Place Auction Galleries – Kaja Veilleux, 250 Main Hotel, Charles and Julia Bolton, Alice Gorman, Lie-Nielsen Toolworks, Inc., Allen Insurance and Financial, Pen Bay Medical Center , Hampton Inn & Suites – Thomaston/Rockland, The Grasshopper Shop of Rockland, The Cote Corporation Crane-Rigging, Camden Riverhouse Hotel, Distinctive Tile & Design and Monhegan Boat Line.

Media sponsor is Maine Public. “Andrew Wyeth at 100” is funded in part by a grant from the Maine Arts Commission, an independent agency supported by the National Endowment for the Arts. For more information, visit farnsworthmuseum.org.

Courier Publications’ A&E Editor Dagney C. Ernest can be reached at (207) 594-4401, ext. 115; or dernest@courierpublicationsllc.com.